We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights, and it was fine. We paid slightly more for a balcony room, which was probably a good idea as the rooms are small, and it might've felt claustrophobic without the large balcony windows. The bathroom didn't have a bath, which was disappointing, particularly when you have been out walking for hours (in the rain) and fancy a soak. Perhaps a jacuzzi in the pool/steam room area might be a good idea?
The hotel is not central, so you are are fairly captive in the evenings, and it's not cheap to eat here. Alexander's bar doesn't really offer much in the way of bar area, as most of it is turned over to restaurant (which is pretty good, but pricey), so the evenings can seem long.
The hotel lounge is ok, but you need to avoid the evenings that they rope some poor member of staff into playing the electric organ. We stuck it out for two drinks, but eventually had to seek the sanctuary of our room.
The beds are comfortable, and we slept well.
Total bill for 3 nights, including two meals, for two people, was £590.
To be honest, I felt this was expensive and didn't really reflect vfm. Next time we visit the lakes I will look for somewhere more centrally located in the town, meaning I can eat and drink where I choose, without having to drive.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony room, or pay the price!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of Castle Green

Our room rates do fluctuate based upon demand and the dates you stayed did coincide with school holidays. The accommodation element of your stay was £391.50 for 3 nights B&B which included an upgrade to the Balcony room. We do keep our pricing very competitive with other four star hotels in the area.

We also encourage our guests to book directly with us at the hotel via our own website or by telephone to get the best possible rates. Third party booking agents can charge us upto 20% commission which in this case amounted to £70.

I apologise if the evening entertainment was not to your taste. We have many regulars who stay on Sunday nights who (once a month) enjoy having Rob serve their dinner and then play them a few tunes in the lounge afterwards.

I was pleased to read that overall you rated your experience as decent and I wish you all the best in finding a hotel which is more suitable for your requirements.

Best Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the moment we checked into the Castle Green we felt welcomed and valued. The reception staff were excellent and set the tone for this Friday night stay. The room itself wasn't anything flash but was certainly very comfortable and had everything you needed (including free wifi).

Both of us had a great nights sleep and arrived at breakfast in good spirits. Here, the excellent service continued as we were seated at a window table with views over the hills. Top quality produce served hot and fresh - just as it should be.

The only reason this isn't a five star review is a) it is located a good 20 minute walk outside town and b) I feel the price for the room was on the top side. Of course, I knew both of these things before we stayed but do feel them relevant.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words

Our location just on the outskirts of Kendal offers the best of both worlds. The hotel has the feeling of being in the country overlooking the ruins of Kendal Castle yet only a 2 minute drive into Kendal town.

Many of our guests do enjoy the walk down the hill into town but usually opt for a taxi back to save the climb back up to our elevated position on the hillside!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had an amazing stay at this hotel can't wait to return, the staff are friendly, professional and helpful, nothing is to much trouble. The food from the restaurant was delicious and to a very high standard. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Our half price winter promotion runs from December – February so check out our website for more details and to check availability

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was excellent. The room was an execitive room and certainly lived up to expectations, used the spa facilites and Alexanders Bar - both excellent with excellent staff. Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for your review

Our Executive rooms are very popular so I recommend booking well in advance to make sure you get the room you are after.

Ben Mayou

Ps. Book directly with us at the hotel via our own website or by telephone to get the best rates and promotions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff, brilliant customer service, lovely grounds and superb breakfast. The leisure facilities are good especially the steam room and pool. Have stayed here many times and although a bit pricey you get what you pay for, will continue to use this hotel as we love it !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your most recent review of Castle Green.

We are very proud of the service and standards we deliver and as such were delighted to win both Hotel and Team of the Year at the Westmorland Gazette Awards in September

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in July and actually it was a really pleasant stay. The room was a bit narrow but other than that there is nothing you can fault with it. There is a pub on site which does really good food in the evening. The staff are very friendly. It is situated fairly close to Kendal town centre so much so that if it isn't raining then you can easily walk to town. It is close to the motorway and also to the Lake District. If I was coming back to the Lake District then would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in July. We were certainly blessed with a brilliant summer this year which makes such a difference!

We are ideally located just a few miles from junction 36 or 37 of the M6 and have a main line train station (Oxenholme) nearby. If your looking for a base to explore the Lakes then why not give us a try?

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our 3rd visit & we stayed for 2 nights. Everything you would want & need in this hotel. Beautiful hotel, staff fantastic, rooms spotlessly clean & outstanding food - from breakfast through to dinner. Also set in beautiful grounds. Well recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms & all been quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomosCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind words. Its always a good test of our consistency when our regular guests return!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,054 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $114 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing