We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,120 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked into the Castle Green we felt welcomed and valued. The reception staff were excellent and set the tone for this Friday night stay. The room itself wasn't anything flash but was certainly very comfortable and had everything you needed (including free wifi).

Both of us had a great nights sleep and arrived at breakfast in good spirits. Here, the excellent service continued as we were seated at a window table with views over the hills. Top quality produce served hot and fresh - just as it should be.

The only reason this isn't a five star review is a) it is located a good 20 minute walk outside town and b) I feel the price for the room was on the top side. Of course, I knew both of these things before we stayed but do feel them relevant.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words

Our location just on the outskirts of Kendal offers the best of both worlds. The hotel has the feeling of being in the country overlooking the ruins of Kendal Castle yet only a 2 minute drive into Kendal town.

Many of our guests do enjoy the walk down the hill into town but usually opt for a taxi back to save the climb back up to our elevated position on the hillside!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
898
35
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had an amazing stay at this hotel can't wait to return, the staff are friendly, professional and helpful, nothing is to much trouble. The food from the restaurant was delicious and to a very high standard. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Our half price winter promotion runs from December – February so check out our website for more details and to check availability

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was excellent. The room was an execitive room and certainly lived up to expectations, used the spa facilites and Alexanders Bar - both excellent with excellent staff. Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review

Our Executive rooms are very popular so I recommend booking well in advance to make sure you get the room you are after.

Ben Mayou

Ps. Book directly with us at the hotel via our own website or by telephone to get the best rates and promotions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff, brilliant customer service, lovely grounds and superb breakfast. The leisure facilities are good especially the steam room and pool. Have stayed here many times and although a bit pricey you get what you pay for, will continue to use this hotel as we love it !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your most recent review of Castle Green.

We are very proud of the service and standards we deliver and as such were delighted to win both Hotel and Team of the Year at the Westmorland Gazette Awards in September

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in July and actually it was a really pleasant stay. The room was a bit narrow but other than that there is nothing you can fault with it. There is a pub on site which does really good food in the evening. The staff are very friendly. It is situated fairly close to Kendal town centre so much so that if it isn't raining then you can easily walk to town. It is close to the motorway and also to the Lake District. If I was coming back to the Lake District then would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in July. We were certainly blessed with a brilliant summer this year which makes such a difference!

We are ideally located just a few miles from junction 36 or 37 of the M6 and have a main line train station (Oxenholme) nearby. If your looking for a base to explore the Lakes then why not give us a try?

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our 3rd visit & we stayed for 2 nights. Everything you would want & need in this hotel. Beautiful hotel, staff fantastic, rooms spotlessly clean & outstanding food - from breakfast through to dinner. Also set in beautiful grounds. Well recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms & all been quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomosCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind words. Its always a good test of our consistency when our regular guests return!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. The bedrooms are functional and pleasant, rather than luxurious, but they are fairly priced. Everything you'd need. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, and the hotel is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Short and sweet!! Hope to see you at the hotel again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing