We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here for a wedding in august the gardens were amazing lovely for all the photos, rooms were fantastic well equipped for all our needs .had a lovely balcony over looking the grounds, the staff were very attentive.. the dinner we had was wonderful all the best produce..... breakfast was to die for all fresh and tasted amazing greatest of quality....would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0rr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experience.

Trip Advisor research claims that 87% of travellers are influenced by the reviews they read. On the basis of this review I hope a few people will be convinced to give us a try!!

The most competitive rates can be found on our website and with our new and improved mobile and tablet adaptive online booking facility it is now even easier to book direct and cut out the middle man!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    491
    137
    45
    15
See reviews for
289
930
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a few nights at the end of September and had a great time. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, you feel that nothing is a problem to them.
The food is good too. If I had to offer a gripe I could say that the room was too warm but as we were experiencing unseasonably warm weather I don't think this could be blamed on the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzyd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We aim to please ;-)

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week while attending a course at the Heightec Training Centre.
Lovely hotel in a quiet location.
The room was a bit of the small side but overall very comfortable.
My only complaint is that it was rather difficult to get into the hotel restaurant, however you are advised to book in advance, but once I did manage to get a table the food was lovely.
Breakfast was also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyMARitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback

I have always been told to steer clear of any restaurant that is very quiet!

Fortunately our Greenhouse Restaurant is usually packed so advanced table reservations are highly recommended. You wouldn’t want to miss out on the chance to experience fantastic 2 AA rosette standard food at very reasonable prices (£28 for 3 courses!)

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joycey8
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel, we have nothing but praise. Our wedding Day in September was just amazing from start to finish everything went so well. We cannot thank the team enough especially Nicola and Christine. All our friends and family had a wonderful time and all said the food and rooms very brilliant.

We cannot wait to visit again soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joycey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Nicola and Christine are our wedding dream team! They will have been involved in hundreds of weddings at Castle Green over the years so take it all in their stride!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a brilliant location! The staff are a perfect combination of professional and friendly without exception! The rooms are spotlessly clean with beds fit for a princess! The breakfast was delicious with an excellent array of choices from Danish pastries and fresh local cheeses to the very tasty traditional cooked breakfast with several items available on the "cooked to order menu". The onsite "Alexander's Pub" serves a fantastic range of dishes with an emphasis on using locally sourced ingredients and a great selection of Real Ales! A sincere thank you to Dave, Jack, Abbey, Lauren and Chef!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I would agree that our team are certainly ‘first class’!!!!

We are very proud to have won ‘Team of the Year’ at the Westmorland Gazette Awards at the end of September. We do try hard not to be too formal in our approach to service and it is clear from your review that this came across during your time at the hotel.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the castle green hotel for two nights and were not disappointed, due to the bad weather, our first game of golf was cancelled, so we arrived several hours early, the lovely lady on reception(penny) was really helpful, and organised breakfast, which was really lovely, a vast choice, and very well presented, we were able to go to our room early and get settled in, the hotel was very clean throughout, we enjoyed a swim, and the gym facilities were also impressive, we would have no hesitation in recommending to others staying in the lakes, all the staff were very pleasant, thanks to you all. Steve Willams, liverpool

Room Tip: We stayed in room 258 there was'nt any view, but no problem to us, maybe when booking just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are very fortunate to have some fantastic golf courses to choose from if you are looking for a golfing break.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston lancs
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I organised a stay for 12 of us for our annual reunion. What a good choice it was. Thank you tripadvisor. The room had recently refurbished it was spotless and very comfy especially the bed.
We dined in the pub on the Friday evening everyone enjoyed the food and service. Saturday in the restaurant where the food was excellent as was the service. They made a special effort to seat us all together as they did for Friday in the pub and breakfast on both days. Breakfast was v good as well. No complaints from us at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was great to read that your reunion was a success. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
488 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing