We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything about this hotel screams professionalism and going above and beyond for the customer. We had our wedding day there on 26th July and for the 20 months in advance Amanda and the team were so helpful, attentive and would do everything to please the bride and groom. Christine and her banqueting team on the day were friendly and did everything to help make it the most perfect day. I've been to two Christmas parties, 3 weddings (one being my own) and for one evening meal here and don't have a single complaint on any occasion... Top quality food at reasonable prices. My friend who always has Goats Cheese when we eat out said it was the best she'd ever eaten! The honeymoon suite was huge, clean and the bed so comfy (though I was so tired I could have slept on the floor probably!). We couldn't work the windows and it was an incredibly hot day, a quick visit to reception and they went into the room and sorted it for us. If you're looking for a wedding venue... or just a hotel for a luxury break... look no further, I promise you. Thank-you everyone for the most perfect day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My car broke down and to be honest so did I, i ended up having to stay the night in Kendal. With limited availability I ended up at the Castle Green and boy I was glad I did, the Kiwi night porter looked after me when I was having a "why me" moment, even took me to a garage in his own car in the morning very helpful and genuinely nice guy an asset to the hotel . The room was very comfortable, and i had a good sleep despite the guest next door coughing all night and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Join a breakdown organisation and get home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Front Office Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for you review, Kiwi was delighted to be of help in your hour of need and even more delighted that you took the time to post a review. So if ever you are in Kendal again we would love to welcome to you back to the hotel under happier circumstances.

Gail Armstrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions usually related to business over many years. Consistently very good service and very good accommodation. Even when very busy the service and food have always been to a very high standard. The hotel always seems well managed with a strong focus on the customer be it the individual or the corporate customer. I have over the years arranged conferences and seminars here and always felt that I was dealing with professionals.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Alank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Front Office Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding you recent stay with us, I am so please you decided to try us for a leisure break as well as on your business trips.

Gail Armstrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We travelled from Ireland to visit relations and stayed in the Best Western Plus castle Green Hotel a few weeks ago for 4 nights. There were 2 adults and 3 children in our party and we booked a family room. All I can say about the family room was Oh My God! The size of the room was amazing. By far the biggest family room we've ever stayed in! A huge spacious room with all the facilities you could wish for.

Just a note on the breakfasts. We had breakfast each day from the buffet and the hearty breakfast and excellent selection of items was outstanding. A lovely homely welcome awaited you as you arrived and the staff, particularly from the motherly head brekfast lady, and as with the hotel staff in general were brilliant! A true credit to Kendal!

We will definitely be back. This hotel was recommended by family who live nearby and what a recommendation it was! We loved it!!

Room Tip: ask for a family room if travelling with kids! What a spacious room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liamomurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Glad you liked the family room- it is big and two out of the three have great views over the gardens too.

Perhaps next time you come you can have a go at our Bownessie trail in the woods!

Liz Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A really friendly hotel with very helpful staff.Spent an enjoyable week there, they even changed our room when we asked for a better view! The pub in the grounds is more of a nice relaxing eating place, the exercise area staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are at the back or side, ask for a room at the front for lovely views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJC782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for the review. The views over the front of the hotel are amazing, we've just upgraded our seven balcony rooms so I don't know if you managed to experience those?

Hope to see you back again soon

Liz Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a five night break at this hotel. Very relaxing as the hotel is nice and quiet, in lovely surroundings. A real 'foody' break if you are minded to indulge! The fixed price menu is varied and excellent quality as well as good value for money. We also ate in Alexander's pub which is owned by the hotel and in the hotel bar. Good location for exploring the Lakes, especially Ambleside, Windermere and Kendal itself. We also were close to Go Ape and hired kayaks on Windermere. The pool, sauna, gym and spa are added extras for evenings or rainy days. Will go again for sure!

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the second floor - a twin and a double and both of very good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for the review and glad you had a nice break with us. We pride ourselves on our food offering using mainly local ingredients from a host of local suppliers. Glad you managed to fit in some exercise to work it all off!

Liz Duncan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family have stayed here many times but this time they really stepped up. Firstly we were upgraded to a executive family room. Wow , it was gigantic and perfect in every way. We used the swimming pool on arrival and as with all the staff the girl on the desk was very helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel as we have eaten there many times , and was always happy with everything. We just wanted a change. An Italian restaurant called Infusion which is in the centre of Kendal is well worth the visit. As the room was so lovely we spent the evening just chilling.
The breakfast was the one noticeable difference. The lady in charge started off our day welcoming us like she was our family. The fresh fruit was so plentiful We could have just had that ......but the cooked buffet breakfast smelt so good we couldn't resist. OMG. There was an addition of a toaster for you to toast various bread and bagels too. We will definately be returning wen we find an excuse to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for the response Debbie and great to see you again. The toaster is a new addition to the breakfast offering - if there wasn't enough to go for already, it's a wonder anybody gets any further!

I'm guessing the Breakfast Supervisor was Leona our 'Undercover Boss' star. She's a bubbly character and really makes everyone feel at home.

We offer breaks in the Winter months at half price, now if that isn't a good excuse to return . . . !

Liz Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,137 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $123 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing