We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big hotel with excellent features” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big hotel with excellent features”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our first trip was planned nonsuch short notice and we needed a 1 night stay ovr a bank holiday weekend which would accommodate a new born baby. Having searched the Internet, I came across this hotel, highly recommended, good reviews, lots of facilities, good restauraunt and has spa facilities, it was perfect.

At £140 per night, it is a bit expensive, but we planned to spend time in bowness and spend the rest of our evening in the hotel (no choice, as we had a newborn baby).

Staff was ever so friendly when we were greeted at the reception, there was a hsutle and bustle of friendly people as you walk along the corridors.

Our room was ideal, it was a family suite with a cot bed setup for our daughter, a tv, a separate living room area and big bathroom.

Our view wasn't great, I think we were facing a back yard and the windows didn't open to wide, but luckily it wasn't hot.

Facilities included swimming pool, beauty rooms, outside pub (recommended) and a lovly restaurant. We didn't use the facilities apart from the pub which is small but cosy and they servedpub food, portions looked very big and prices were reasonable.

We had made a reservations at their in-house rossetta star restaurant, the food is expensive (£100 including wine) but outstanding, presentation was amazing and the experience was worht the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smile4lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I think I know which room you are talking about and though it doesn't have much of a view it is a nice quiet room and larger than average so perfect for you with the extra 'kit' that comes with a little one.

We endeavour to meet all our guests specific requirements, given enough warning, so glad we could sort this out for you at the last minute.

Liz Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
898
35
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed there twice within a week. Once on the way up to Edinburgh and then on the way down. The first time in the room second furthest from the reception and the second time we were about 3 rooms from reception. Both equally good with all the facilities expected of a Best Western. Staff in all area were very good and could not do enough for you. The breakfast was excellent and was able to tell the chef so at the time as you can see him cooking the breakfast. The sausages- locally sourced- were very tasty. All the usual help yourself buffet items. The restaurant supervisor came round to see if everything OK and did we want anything else even the it was very busy.
The evening meal was taken in the same restaurant- again very busy. The first time we ate off the table d'hote and this was excellent. The second time we had a mixture off the same menu and the a la carte. Again could not fault it. The only downside for me was the bread offered. Not everyone likes brown or sour dough bread- however, when asked they managed to find some that I liked. It was not a problem for them. Definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We welcome quite a few guests at this time of year travelling up and then down the country, it's always a talking point of what they've done inbetween!

Our breakfast chefs (Wayne, Tom & Nikki) are particularly chatty through the theatre window, mind you they have been up since 6am so they've a few hours on the rest of us!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Bonnie Scotland

Liz Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We picked the Castle Green to host my Leaving/Birthday Party because of their great reputation, and also the really beautiful location of the hotel itself. When I was looking into party venues I received a reply to my enquiry within half an hour, and also received a phone call on the same day about visiting the location as well as information about catering/DJ options. After visiting the hotel and looking around The Kendal Suite, I knew it was the perfect location for our event. There were loads of food menus and options to choose from that suit even the fussiest eater! After that it was all plain sailing and the Hotel organised everything for us, except the decor which they were more than happy to give us free reign of!
The Kendal Suite itself is perfect for a party for family and friends, there's a private entrance foyer, bar, dance floor and loads of room for tables and anything else you might need! Not to mention the terrace outside! It is huge and perfect to watch an amazing sunset on a nice evening.
Our evening went without a hitch and the food was really beautiful - not your basic party food that's for sure! All the staff were absolutely amazing throughout the evening, serving food, bar tending - they were all so friendly. I highly recommend their resident DJ, he was a good laugh and will play any requests. I had an amazing time and the best send off I can hope for. Parties like these can be expensive but it was worth every penny! Thank you to the whole Castle Green team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennysl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic comments and we're happy you all had a great time. We love a party at Castle Green whatever the occasion and I'm so glad that came across from the team.

Good luck for the future from all the team.

Regards
Liz Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely hotel very nice room excelllent gym facilities. The Staff are all very friendly and the lady in charge of breakfast who I think was called Leona , was extremely welcoming. All in all I would stay again. Restaurant very pricey but the Pub next door was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkKidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review

By having our own Pub in the grounds of the hotel we aim to provide a dining experience for everybody needs. Our Greenhouse Restaurant daily changing menu is priced at £28 for three courses (last nights menu is below). We have this year again retained our 2AA Rosettes award for the standard and quality of cooking.

DINNER MENU - Sunday 11th August

Starter

Carrot soup, lemon yoghurt
Dressed crab, peaches, heritage tomatoes and oyster leaf
Kidderton ash goats cheese, avocado, figs and gingerbread
Sous vide salmon, cucumber, pea puree, confit new potatoes

Main Course

Grilled rib eye steak, fat chips, onion rings, mushroom, tomato,
green beans and peppercorn sauce
Loin and confit leg of wild rabbit, pancetta, lobster, baby leeks and parsnip puree
Wild Solway sea bass, Jerusalem artichokes, braised white cabbage,
sweet potato and butter sauce
Semolina gnocchi, baby beetroots, red chard and butternut squash

Dessert

Lemon and blueberry sponge, elderflower champagne sorbet, wood sorrel
Passion fruit mousse, cherry apple, passion fruit and pineapple sorbet
Scottish strawberries and raspberries, clotted cream and crumble
English cheeses, grapes, celery, biscuits, Williamson’s green tomato chutney

£28.00 for 3 courses
£22.50 for 2 courses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for a night on visiting the Lake District. Located around 10 minutes from Kendal and 25 mins from Windermere. A standard Best Western hotel... nothing special really. Staff are nice and friendly, however, rooms are a bit on the small side. Plenty of car park spaces available, but the down side is that most parking spaces are down the hill from the reception. Could be a struggle for those with lots of luggage (tip: unload luggages at reception, check in, then park car down hill)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We are very proud to currently be ranked 11th out of 280 Best Western hotels in the UK. This ranking is based upon the reviews of guests who have actually stayed with us so is a really good reflection of how we compare with the other hotels in the brand.

We are set on a hillside in grounds of 12 acres which unfortunately means that our car parking is split over three levels with the spaces nearest to reception being highly sort after. On the plus side this does mean we have some fantastic views over Kendal Castle and the Lakeland fells in the distance.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked this break a few months ago for our 49th wedding anniversary,but only 3 weeks ago my wife had knee surgery but we decided to go ahead with our planned break,From the moment we arrived the hotel staff couldn't have done enough for us from reception/room cleaning/dining room/bar staff what a fantastic set up.Anyone wanting a relaxing break this is the place.We get about quite a bit in the golfing world at home and abroad but this takes some beating.Well done Tim (G.M.) you have a great staff set up.7/08/2013--9/08/2013

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the gardens with a walk in shower which helped our medical needs and found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Castle Green with others online. We are always delighted to be able to contribute to such a special occasion, many congratulations from all the team here at the hotel.

I hope that your wife is back on the golf course very soon and that you will consider celebrating your 50th anniversary with us next year!

Best Regards

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are quiet and clean.The staff are very friendly.Breakfast was good and the lady in charge really nice and efficient.A perfect stay to explore the lake district.A pity the hotel isn't nearer to Kendal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing