We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
County Hotel(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragg Farm(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burrow Hall(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,952)
Filter reviews
1,952 results
Traveler rating
1,174
552
160
50
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
552
160
50
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubtasting menuexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundspool and steam roomlake districtlovely hotelhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,372 - 1,377 of 1,952 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent one night here en route from the Lakes District to North Wales. The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. To our surprise, we were upgraded to an executive room (#144) which was absolutely HUGE, with a large bathroom (as big as some hotel rooms I've stayed in), sitting area, large windows, etc. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the food and service in Alexander's pubs was very good. It is in a nice setting which, if it had not been so chilly and rainy, would have been worth some exploration. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: See if you can get an Executive Room like #144 (it's huge).
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Castle Green yesterday as it was an engagement present from my parents. From the minute we drove into the car park, the charm from this hotel was obvious. The views were outstanding, the weather was blissful and the gardens were stunning. We checked in effortlessly, by the lovely receptionist and showed to our room. The room was probably one of the nicest, cleanest and most welcoming we have ever stayed in! We walked into Kendal town centre and did some shopping, had lunch and then went back to the hotel in order to use the spa facilities, which again, were spotless and the staff so friendly and helpful. We ate in Alexanders Pub on site for our evening meal, and the table was reserved for us by the reception staff. When we got to the pub they were expecting us, and even though we were a bit late, they did everything they could to accomodate us. The meal was exceptional to say the least, hats off to the chef!!! We went back into the main bar in the hotel for cocktails, and the bar staff there were also accomodating and friendly!! Our bed was so so comfy and we didnt want to get up for breakfast, but managed to drag ourselves to the restaurant and we were glad we did!! The food was wonderful, filling, and hot with a huge selection of hot, cold foods, cereal, fruit, pastries, bread, yoghurtss etc..We loved our stay here and wouldn't hesitate in visiting again - I even want to have our wedding here, but unfortunately it's a bit far for the family to travel!! Thank you castle green....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumto1xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed one night 6 July 13 - lovely meal at Alexanders Bar, comfy bed, beautiful bathroom (yes its a small bar of soap, but how much soap do you normally use in a weekend and then the rest goes in the bin so I thought it was environmentally friendly) you got body wash and shampoo, lots of tea bags and milk which was nice, quiet room and very pleasant staff, nice breakfast and nice clientele, will definitely return. Perfectly situated, lovely gardens etc etc

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyStocktononTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and stayed there with several friends on the 30/06/2013 having highly recommending it.
Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful as usual nothing is ever to much trouble.
Room service was prompt and served with a smile.
We had afternoon tea which was lovely served by attentive staff and our tea/coffee was hot and plentiful.
After a swim and sauna we went down for dinner and met disarray in the dining room, the manager appeared to be at odds with every member of staff who as far as we could see were their usual attentive selves (one of the things I love about Castle Green) we waited 1.5 hours for our starters and had to ask several times for drinks and bread (no tapanade:(() the manager was quite patronizing when we requested house wine informing us that "we do not serve house wine if you would like to look at the wine menu".
We could also hear the manager reprimanding staff which is not nice to hear especially as they were all working so hard, this I might add did not effect the friendliness of the staff although it can not be a nice atmosphere to work under.
As it was we were not the only table to complain I believe there were several others after discussions with other guests.
On a positive note the food was wonderful and as usual the breakfast buffet had as usual everything you could wish for with no wait for poached eggs of the menu the service was top notch.
I was contacted by the hotel manager the very next day with apologies and an offer of compensation.
All in all this experience will not stop me from booking again I think the Castle Green is excellent value for money and the staff are what makes the stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs on the front have great views and if you can upgrade do so the room are great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PartonLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

I was delighted to be able to discuss your most recent stay with you over the telephone. We are by no means perfect and unfortunately mistakes do happen from time to time. When they do we pride ourselves on getting to the bottom of the cause so that we do not allow the same thing to happen again. Please rest assured that this particular situation is no different.

It is very rare that we received feedback of this nature with 88% of Trip Advisor reviewers rating us as ‘Very Good’ or ‘Excellent’

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

IF yourthinking of coming here dont trust me its a three star ,there just isnt any staff onand dont expect hot pots of tea at breakfast the boiler dosnt work and if you order off menu you wait for ever because they forget ,basics such as soap take your own 140 a night only gets a miniture bar and we didnt get another one for tonight,we had to go into town to buy soap

Room Tip: Another hotel this is not a four staff
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank splodge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Please accept our apologies for your disappointment regarding your stay with us. It is clear that we have not met your expectations of a four star hotel. We serve in excess of 1000 breakfasts every week at this time of year and we have had no negative feedback regarding cold tea at breakfast. We do provide a small bar of soap in each bedroom but like other quality hotels additional toiletries are available by request at no extra charge.

We do not claim to be the cheapest hotel in Kendal but do have many facilities which are available to our guests whist staying at the hotel. We have twelve acres of grounds to explore, our own Pulse Leisure Club, Alexander’s Pub in the grounds, complimentary parking and Wifi and a team of 120 staff to take care of your needs.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews