We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel and facilities”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of a 3 day coast to coast cycle ride. Hotel was a welcome site after a hard day! Had a few issues with the guy on reception- niggles with restaurant booking, no alarm call etc. but let's not take away from excellent bar and restaurant staff, great rooms, lovely grounds. Not really in Kendal but that didn't bother us as too tired to venture out!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    479
    135
    43
    15
See reviews for
289
916
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent one night at the Castle Green, Kendal. Lovely meal and service at the Greenhouse restaurant. They managed to move us forward ahead of a coach of people by 5mins! Great service and lovely friendly chatty staff. Jill at recepton was excellent as was the other receptionist. Freshing to have a local at the desk and knows local knowledge. Lovely warm pool. Walked to the ruined Kendal castle to stretch our legs. Nice walk. Room overlooked Kendal town and the view of lovely gardens. A super stay. Hghly recommeneded. NIve pub adjacent to the hotel with several good reall ales.

Room Tip: Tip:Book a room over looking the gardens towards Kendal. Do please enjoy a meal in the hotel's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds, close to Kendal (£6 by taxi for 3). We had a family celebration with people from all over England joining us, aged 25 - 90. The restaurant "The Greenhouse" served superb food (2 rosettes) with some very clever 'amuses bouches' to start. Fantastic breakfasts too that suited everyone. The rooms were comfortable and actually provided shelves for putting stuff on rather that filling them with knick knacks. The spa was used by several members of our party who really enjoyed it, especially the massages.
At first the hotel seemed a little wary of letting us rearrange furniture so we could all (16) sit together bit they became much more accommodating. The only problems were with the bathrooms in "accessible" rooms - the shower was a 9 inch step up (right in front of the toilet!) with a bar to aid getting in but not for getting out. The shower head was fixed and too high up for shorter, elderly or physically disabled people to reach. This meant one member of our party could not shower for 2 days as all the rooms had the same equipment.
We could not fault the service otherwise and we had a good time over our 2 night stay. Just double check if someone you go with needs assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipovina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night which began our holiday to the Dales. Kendal is quite an easy drive from Carnoustie (Scotland) and we wished we could have stayed longer. The staff here were extremely welcoming, the room excellent, with everything one needs, plus a comfortable bed.
The use of the swimming pool etc was a treat before an excellent breakfast. I left my hair tongs behind and the receptionist kindly held them for me until I got back for them. We plan to return to Kendal in the Autumn and to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed here on a 4 day visit to see my family in kendal...one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in...well worth 115 quid a nite....the room was fantastic..2nd floor garden view....friendly staff,,nothing too much trouble...gym, sauna, swimming pool....yeah i,ll be staying there again next time up kendal....

Room Tip: room 141....2nd floor garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpearson154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Just a one night stay on our return from Scotland on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. Our stay was faultless, lovely room with vies at the front. Good "pub" on site, spa facility (separate business from hotel), free use of gym and pool. Free wi-fi.
The dinner was several notches above standard fayre and was miles above expectations. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious! Will come back for longer stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank colbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I attended a celebration lunch. The food was very disappointing. Starter - a tumbler of melon balls, just out of the freezer catering pack - thawed but pretty tastless. My friend had soup, which she said was hot but tasteless. (only two choices). For the main course it was "Everyone ok with chicken?" from the waitress. One person requested the vegetarian option. The chicken was well cooked but served on a watery gravy and the veg were seriously undercooked - could have done with steak knives. The food and presentation were very poor. Two courses and coffee and a mint for £22!!!!!!!!!!!!

We have not stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent lunch event with us.

For £22 per person we provided tea/coffee on arrival, a glass of wine with lunch, a two course meal and another serving of tea/coffee. I would like to apologise for your disappointment regarding the quality of the food offering. It is highly unusual to receive feedback of this nature and as such I have been in touch with the Chairman of your group to also apologise. I understand that overall the event was considered a success and I was pleased to note that the committee may consider holding an afternoon tea event with us later in the year.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing