We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
$155
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millers Beck(Kendal)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$78
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,974)
Filter reviews
1,974 results
Traveler rating
1,189
558
160
50
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
558
160
50
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubtasting menuexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundspool and steam roomlake districtlovely hotelhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely view
Filter
Updating list...
1,519 - 1,524 of 1,974 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Once again had a great time at the hotel this time over the New Year.
Everything excellent, room,food,entertainment and specially the best staff you could wish for.
Looking forward to our next visit, which we hope will be before New Year. 2012, we went for my birthday, see previous review, but can't go this year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I stay in many Best Western hotels in the UK on business during the year - mainly for the free wifi and the reward points! My wife and I stayed at the Castle Green hotel using our points for two nights in December and were both very impressed. The staff we came into contact with all went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the food in Alexander's pub was good - we didn't use the main restaurant. The hotel is large (99 rooms) and appears very well maintained. It's on the outskirts of Kendal but only a 20 minute walk from the centre. I think you'd have to look very hard to find a better overall hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadcaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 6th stay at the Castle Green and again the hotel delivered on all fronts. The staff are warm,friendly and very accommodating, most of them being local people that have worked at the hotel for many years and they are very proud of "their hotel". The standard of the rooms and accompanying facilities are excellent. We had the evening meal in the restaurant and it was once again wonderful and beautifully presented. If this was a stand alone restaurant in the lake district it would be difficult to reserve a table and the cost would increase significantly. The cooked 'help yourself' english breakfast is one of the best you will ever find. We look forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great New Years Eve Party Night at Castle Green. It was my third visit to the hotel, the first visit being about 10 Years ago & I was amazed to find that the same Band that played on the first visit was playing again this time. The fabulous Picasso brothers were brilliant. The dance floor was full all night. In fact, the dance floor needs to be a bit bigger. The 5 course meal served to about 150 guests was very good quality. The tea/coffe service let it down a bit, it was a bit canteen style rather than the excellent service we received during the dinner. To be fair to the staff, they had to serve amidst noisy & by this time messy tables.
The service in the bar after the party was really welcoming & the guy on the bar at around 2am served us drinks with a smile & told us a couple of jokes. All the staff are very friendly.
Great breakfast the following morning in a full restaurant.
The bedrooms are very clean & comfortable.
Will definately go back again in 2013.
Thank you to all the staff at Castle Green.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelamereCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for the New Years Eve bash, its the 2nd time we've done this at this hotel and as always had a fantastic time. The Staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. Although we are a couple we love to stay in the family room its lovely and spacious and has nice big bathroom with bath and shower. The large picture windows gives you a lovely view over Kendal. We have stayed here in the summer of 2011 plus 2 nights for the New Year in 2011 and 2012 - Excellent would certainly recommend this. The food is of the highest standard even the breakfasts, and is a credit to the small catering staff and their head chef.

Room Tip: A must is to get a room overlooking the superb gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews