We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recently spent a night here while travelling back home, got a good B and B deal. We really enjoyed the friendly welcome and comfort of the room.They had a sensible policy of having set times for children in the pool which meant that was quiet and calm and my husband used the gym and found that good. We ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the Cumbrian tasting menu which at £ 30 + a head for 5 courses was very good value given the very high quality of the food. Breakfast the next morning didn't disappoint either. All in all a very welcoming and comfy stay in a great setting . Will definitely have another break there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We do often find that guests stay with us for the first time as a ‘stop off’ as part of an onward journey. The great news is that they usually decide to return to us for a more leisurely break in the future!

Considering a few nights away in March? We have a fantastic 2 for 1 offer which is ideal for a short break, check out our website for more information!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food in the restaurant was exceptional and real value for money, the bar prices a lot less than expected. The room was a good size, and well equipped to meet every need - and although it was a bit of a walk from the reception and up two flights of stairs, we had no complaints as we heard nothing from a wedding party that was taking up most of the hotel.

Courteous front of house staff, friendly and informative cleaning staff (tips on where to go and where to shop) esnured that a much needed weekend break was beyond expectation. Definitwely a quality experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We do have rooms accessible by lift and located closer to reception for those guests who prefer to be nearer the action! Just mention your preference when booking and our Reception team will do their best to accommodate your needs

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A bit outside Kendal centre, but very good, service very slow in the adjacent restaurant. Room comfortable and clean. One night stay not much else to say

Room Tip: Restaurant service painfully slow, be prepared to anaesthetise yourself with alcohol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

I would like to apologise regarding your experience in the Restaurant. It is highly unusual to receive anything other than positive comments regarding service which can be seen from other reviews posted onto Trip Advisor.

If you would like to discuss your experience in any more detail then please to contact me at the hotel. I trust that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Many Thanks

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have found this hotel has been the best place to stay in Kendal having tried several others. There was an excellent winter break offer from Best Western although it was half term break. The room was immaculate, the beds comfortable and the shower was high pressure with immediate hot water. The breakfast buffet had an excellent choice, including fresh fruit salad and ingredients for making your own muesli. There is an excellent view over Kendal and the castle ruins.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

The view from the hotel changes dramatically with the seasons but is always impressive. The fells in the distance are constant reminder that the Lakes are only a few minutes away by car!

We work tirelessly to try and offer excellent value for money and service at all times and its always great to receive positive reviews

Thank you

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Had a lovely weekend in February with my husband for my birthday. The Spa was amazing and Alexanders the pub served the most amazing food. It snowed while we were there which made it more romantic. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly.
Will definately go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tereena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

The snow that fell on the Saturday night stayed with us for over a week! Luckily it didn’t stop anybody getting to and from the hotel as the local highways agency did a fantastic job of keeping the main roads clear.

Remember to book direct when you are looking to return to get the best deals!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Castle Green and it won't be our last. From the moment we arrived until we left the service was just "first class". The staff are very well trained and look after their guests to a very high standard. Even though the weather was not the best it did not spoil our stay. Or room was spacious and clean and well presented with good facilites. The restaurant was brilliant from the staff who are all pleasant, attentive and friendly. Young Robert is a credit to the hotel and has a bright future ahead of him. The lady who runs breakfast was also superb and made everyone feel special and was very attentive even during a busy breakfast service.The food was superb and we had intended just to eat one night but ate their both nights -yes, a little expensive but worth every penny. Our daughter had treated us to spa treatments for an anniversary and again the staff were brilliant as were the treatments. My husband had never had a massage before and was anxious but came out saying it was brilliant! The staff in the leisure club were friendly and helpful and the facilities good. We could not fault any of our stay and look forward to returning in perhaps sunnier weather. Lastly, it was good to see the hotel manger having a presence around the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

It is always great to hear that we are getting it right in terms of service delivery. We circulate all feedback to every department within the hotel and it is a great way for the team to see that their efforts are appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to spread the word!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We came away for the weekend and arrived early at the hotel. The reception staff registered us as arriving. We walked into Kendall approx 1 1/2 miles. a lovely walk and spent the day there. It started snowing about 11am and carried on and on. We walked back to the castle green about 4pm. There was loads of snow everywhere. When we arrived, the staff were working hard to keep all the paths and lane clear. We called at Alexanders bar for a drink and to book a table. The staff there were lovely, helpful and friendly. We went to take out things to our room and to freshen up. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Our room was large and spacious, the bathroom was huge (the largest hotel bathroom we'd had) The food at Alexanders was absolutely delicious, we had venison (not had before).. 1st class..presentation, taste all. We didn't stay up late. But got up in the morning, i went swimming whilst my husband went in the gym, the girl there was lovely and very helpful (As was the young man we had spoken to on Saturday. Breakfast was 1st class, fresh tomato and fresh mushroom. I very rarely drink the grapefruit juice in hotels as i find it not so good. But at the castle green brilliant: the service at breakfast was 2nd to none. Friendly helpful and very very organised. I think you can tell we really enjoyed our stay. It has to be one of the best hotel stays we've had, where EVERYONE of the staff were so friendly and helpful. As soon as you arrive at reception, someone attends. You are never made to feel a nuisance.
Again the hotel team were still keeping the paths and lanes clear of snow. Can't wait to return, want to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor, very happy with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

What a comprehensive and positive review of your weekend break with us. I was pleased to see that the snow didn’t cause you any problems. However I would recommend a return trip during the summer to fully appreciate the local scenery and the hotel gardens in full bloom!

Remember to book direct to get the best deals!!

Many Thanks

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,139 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
566 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $122 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing