We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas on a plate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My Wife and I have just returned from our 2nd Christmas stay at the Castle Green Hotel. Once again everything was perfect, from check-in our 3 night stay was stress free. We had the pleasure of having our Christmas day lunch in the restaurant and we both believe it was the best meal we have ever had. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, and helped too make our Christmas the best yet, a big thankyou to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We have certainly set ourselves a challenge for next year should you decide to spend Christmas with us for the 3rd time!

Kind Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

stayed here on my stag do, staff were attentive and helpful. stored bags, checked us all in a differign times on the same booking, kept the bar open till 7am for us with no hassle. Allowed us to drink all night and even joined in the fun [without drinking of course]. Top marks from 23 people on our stag.

only thing was our rooms werent quite reright but they sorted it and refunded us the difference. the hotel is a mile or so outside Kendal so you need a cab to get into town if your lazy like us but its a great view from this location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments. We were pleased to be able to accommodate your party and that you had an enjoyable time. The only time we close the bar to hotel residents is if they are causing trouble and this was certainly not the case on this occasion!

Good Luck for the wedding from all of us at the Castle Green!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed one night and good value at the winter rate.Room clean,good breakfast and staff very helpful.Excellent evening meal in Alexander's pub attached to the hotel.About 25 mins walk into centre of Kendal,£4.50 for taxi back.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

We do our best to offer value for money at all times. No more so than during the winter months. Come and stay with us in January or February with half price B&B (including a complementary bottle of Prosecco) or DBB which includes dinner in our 2 Rosette Greenhouse Restaurant.

Contact our reception team to find out more!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

A large, country house style hotel, with long corridors, and winding staircases, probably the result of the original building having been extended at least once. The room we stayed in, and possibly others, was spacious, and had been recently renovated and was fitted to a high standard. The only obvious omission was a chair of an appropriate height and suitable for working at the desk provided. Haven’t they noticed how many people travel with computers these days?

The Greenhouse Restaurant is excellent – a good choice of well prepared and tasty food, with lots of local specialities on the menu. It was all nicely presented, and reasonably priced – and the service was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are always pleased to receive constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service and facilities here at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our thee day stay in this delightful Hotel had everything at the highest standard.
Best Western are locally owned and it showed in the atential to detail.
The staff were happy and helpful, things were done quickly if needed and I could not find a single fault in the room, its cleanliness and decoration were perfect.
The restaurant was to the highest standard and the food delicious, the evening three course meal only £22.
I am not staying anywhere else when I am on a short trip to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haccheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

We have recently had our annual hotel inspection from the AA and have retained our 2 Rosette award for the quality of food in the Greenhouse Restaurant. Whilst accolades are always gratefully received it is positive feedback from hotel guests that is most satisfying! We are very fortunate to have an established team in the kitchen managed by Justin our Executive Chef who continue to provide quality food at affordable prices.

See you in 2012!

Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We have been visiting this hotel for the past ten years and it just gets better. The service is friendly and courteous, from booking in with Laura at reception to checking out the staff are a superb team. Room 142 is an amazing room. The leisure facilities are very good, a warm pool and really superb steam room. We ate in the restaurant the food was first class. Breakfast choice caters for everyones taste from a light breakfast to full Westmorland. Leona is a friendly face and management and MD all on hand to ensure plates are cleared and tables set. We had a relaxing stay and left refreshed to face Christmas shopping. A superb location. Thank you to everyone at The Castle Green team work is evident. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same excellent standards. some rooms overlook the front gardens and Kendal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank september2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to spread the word!

As you have identified, customer service is what we are all about. We have a very committed and long standing team here at the hotel. The 43 members of our ‘5 Year Club’ have notched up 396 years service at the Castle Green so you can always be sure of a warm welcome from a familiar face!

We look forward to seeing you in 2012

Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Food wonderful.
Staff attentive and very helpful without being gushing or intrusive.
Rooms - tasteful, immaculate and comfortable.
Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We have a couple of fantastic offers for January should you wish to return for a post Christmas break!!

Half Price B&B with comp bottle of Prosecco and a fantastic DBB rate. Call the hotel directly for more information.

Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,116 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $117 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing