We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The receptionist when checking in was snooty and we were disappointed when we entered our room. It was tiny with a rubbish view and damp marks all over the ceiling where the pipes were. I agree with other reviewers too regarding it being noisy if you are on the corridor after being woken up by a wedding crowd.

On the plus side the food in the pub was delicious.

When paying over £100 for a room we expect something better than this especially when it's meant to be the nicest hotel in Kendal according to this site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    479
    135
    43
    15
See reviews for
289
916
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a friendly place which catered well for all our needs. The place is spotlessly clean and rooms are furnished to a high standard. The leisure centre was equally clean and well equipped. Staff were attentive to our needs and very helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Built on the hilside above Kendal with wonderful long distance views across the fells this would be an ideal holiday base for a trip to the Lakes. I stayed here on business when I was running a seminar. The hotel appears to have had recent improvements carried out and certainly the room had a smell of newness about it. The en suite was only a shower room but it was scrupulously clean and everything was as it should be. The food is very good and the staff all very helpful. Although from the main car park it is quite a climb up to the hotel there are parking spaces outside reception for guests with restricted mobility. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We walked the Dales way and had to make a slight detour to stay here. We were well rewarded. Excellent service, friendly staff, pleasant room and most surprisingly of all, there was an excellent meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_garmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Its so close to the lakes, with a pool and spa to relax after a long days walking it must be the the only place to go to visit the lakes

Room Tip: Ring reception for discount rooms etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Not too far from the lakes.

Nice, simple hotel, plenty of parking, long walk up the hill to the hotel though!
Smallish rooms but clean.
Bathroom mirror gets very steamed up, takes ages to clear.
Poor range of TV channels but most hotels are like that.

Breakfast wasnt very fresh, mainly tinned, i wasnt impressed.

A nice gym.

I would stay here again as it is reasonably priced and the rooms are generally comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I came here as a birthday treat and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was a bit of a let down as it was dated and in need of some general maintenance. The room did have a balcony which had amazing views so this made up for the inside of the room!

We spent the evening in the bar area and restuarant. Drinks are typically priced for a hotel and the food was well priced. The food in the restaurant was truly delicious, I would love to eat their again! It was dark when we ate which was a shame as when we went back for breakfast the views out of the restaurant are lovely. This was our mistake, should have eaten earlier!

The location and views are beautiful and we even took a wander into Kendal for a quiet drink. Perfect for a relaxing, romantic stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing