We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night (which wasnt long enough) along with another couple of friends, great location, easy to get to, the weather was great, which really helped.

Unfortunately, check in was 2pm - we arrived at 1pm, we were unable to check into our rooms, not such a huge problem, but we were told we could leave our bags in reception, but we just left them in the car and went to explore Kendal and surrounding area.

The hotel was fabulous, really nice setting, grounds are lovely. The hotel inside itself looked very modern, all mod cons as they say. Our room was great, with great view over ther gardens to the front, usual layout, well furnished and decorated. Plenty of storage. Hairdryer, iron & ironing board and trouser press, tea making facilities, radio/alarm clock, flat screen TV, individulally controlled central heating.

The bathroom was spotless with a shower cubicle, plenty of soft fluffy towels available and mini toiletries.

There is a restaurant/pub directly next to the hotel "Alexanders" great for an afternoon drink after exploring the area. They also serve a fantastic menu, we decided to dine in there that night, fab meal was had by all.

The hotel itself has a restaurant which we chose not to dine at, the menu looked really good though.

After a fab nights sleep, breakfast was being served in the restaurant the next morning, it was buffet style, hot and cold available, juices, pastries, fruits, toats and tea and coffee was served at the table. They try and source all products from local suppliers.

There is a fintess suitewhich as guests you can use, with a small swimming pool, gym, and spa treatments.

Kendal itself was a lovely wee town, steeped in history, with lots of lanes (or yards as they are known) to explore, loads of shops and boutiques as well asthe usual high street shops.

Windermere was only 10/15 mins drive away, where you can hire boats or go on various organised boat trips on Lake Windermere.

All in all a great stay but too short. Will definately go back in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank only1barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Staff very friendly and approachable. Rooms were a good size, very comfortable and clean. The food from the pub and the restaurant was excellent. Only draw back was distance into town (need a car really).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_e_p_h190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We arrived and the first thing we had to do was "climb" from the bottom car park up to reception !!, I requested oxygen from the receptionist !!, it is quite a hike along with baggage etc !....we were given the key to our room which wa s on the ground floor and there was a strong smell of chlorine coming from the pool, on opening the door we were greeted by what I thought was a rather small room overlooking the garden, on looking in the "bathroom" i discovered that there was not even a bath, and the room was so small, it would have been impossible for two people to be in there together !!.....my husband said that as we were going to be out mostly it would be OK !!....however night times were awful !,the bed was too hard, the room was so stuffy, even opening the window did not help !!....I do not even think that the room was cleaned properly !, i killed a fly which was till there two days later !, there were cobwebs on the window frames and mouldy type things on the skirting !....
Breakfast was OK, but nothing "special" !, Alexanders was quite good value and we ate there for the length of our stay.
The position of the Hotel is good, and makes a good base for exploring the area, but the one way system in kendal in awful !.
This is not a cheap Hotel and the facilities are good, but on this occasion i think that we were "short changed".
I should add one thing that really irked me !, right by the entrance is a smokers seat etc all under cover !, well I suffer from asthma and my asthma trigger is smoke so for me this was a "nightmare" every time I entered or left the Hotel !, I think you should think about re siting this to another area away from the main entrance.

Room Tip: Eat at Alexanders !
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scampdogsquiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Many thanks for your posting. We have a drop off point at the front of hotel for guests to remove their luggage from their cars, check in and then park the car later to avoid the walk from the furthest car park with numerous bags.

From your comments I cannot ascertain which room you were in but I have passed your posting to my housekeeping manger who will investigate - apologies we couln't rectify this during your stay, or move you to an alternative room.

Many thanks again for bringing these comments to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was impressed. I was in the Kendal area for work and turned to the normally trusty best western group to book. And once again was not disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent and the views even better. Both my room and the reastrant had excellent views out over Kendal and beyond. The service was good both at reception and in the adjoining pub where I ate.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxitup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the hotel. It has many facilities, a leisure centre with a large pool steam room and gym, all areas were very clan and tidy bit it lacked a jaccuzi . There is a banqueting and conference suite which during our stay was hosting a large event, the organisation of the hotel is such that this event in no way impinged on the hotel guests.
Food is served in the main restaurant, the staff and levels of service were excellent. Unlike a lot of hotels, breakfast was a well organised self service buffet. As well as the hotel bar there is a separate pub which also serves meals.
Notwithstanding all these activities taking place there was ample car parking albeit split over three levels.
Make the hotel aware If you have mobility problems, as some of the rooms are up many stairs and a long way from reception and restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here when attending a friend's wedding a few miles away. It wasn't cheap - over £130 for the room for one night - and the room was miles from reception, small, and with VERY dated decor (the furnishings must've dated from the early 1990s).

Arriving back at the hotel late at night, we asked if any food was available. When the night barmaid stopped sighing, she told us we could have a pizza. In my opinion they'd be better off not raising anyone's hopes, and should just say "no". The pizza was a tomato flavoured biscuit - disgusting.

Being of Cumbrian stock I find it depressing that this is supposed to be one of the best hotels in the South Lakes. Very disappointing and I wouldn't return. I've had better experiences at the Premier Inn in Kendal town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stetay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Many thanks for your email. Apologies that you did not feel your stay represented value for money. As an independent hotel we have invested over £1.5 Million pounds over the last 2 years in updated our bedrooms, bathrooms and public areas and consider our pricing reflects the excellent facilities we provide.

I was particular concerned regarding your comment of an evening snack. We have a comprehensive room service and lounge menu which is managed by the bar staff and then the nights team. Given the length of time since your visit and your posting unfortunately I am limited as to isolating the night barmaid you speak of but I will pass these comments on to the operations manager to take up with the respective teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a lovely hotel just on a hill outside kendal centre so it has great views but need a taxi to get back at night. our room was nice and clean the staff helpful and informative and they recommended us some great places to eat during our stay (well, all except 1!). kendal is a lovely town just outside the busy lakes and we would definately use this hotel again when we return here. Oh, and the swimming pool is only small but lovely

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakescouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing