We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Staff very friendly and approachable. Rooms were a good size, very comfortable and clean. The food from the pub and the restaurant was excellent. Only draw back was distance into town (need a car really).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St_e_p_h190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
897
35
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We arrived and the first thing we had to do was "climb" from the bottom car park up to reception !!, I requested oxygen from the receptionist !!, it is quite a hike along with baggage etc !....we were given the key to our room which wa s on the ground floor and there was a strong smell of chlorine coming from the pool, on opening the door we were greeted by what I thought was a rather small room overlooking the garden, on looking in the "bathroom" i discovered that there was not even a bath, and the room was so small, it would have been impossible for two people to be in there together !!.....my husband said that as we were going to be out mostly it would be OK !!....however night times were awful !,the bed was too hard, the room was so stuffy, even opening the window did not help !!....I do not even think that the room was cleaned properly !, i killed a fly which was till there two days later !, there were cobwebs on the window frames and mouldy type things on the skirting !....
Breakfast was OK, but nothing "special" !, Alexanders was quite good value and we ate there for the length of our stay.
The position of the Hotel is good, and makes a good base for exploring the area, but the one way system in kendal in awful !.
This is not a cheap Hotel and the facilities are good, but on this occasion i think that we were "short changed".
I should add one thing that really irked me !, right by the entrance is a smokers seat etc all under cover !, well I suffer from asthma and my asthma trigger is smoke so for me this was a "nightmare" every time I entered or left the Hotel !, I think you should think about re siting this to another area away from the main entrance.

Room Tip: Eat at Alexanders !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scampdogsquiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Many thanks for your posting. We have a drop off point at the front of hotel for guests to remove their luggage from their cars, check in and then park the car later to avoid the walk from the furthest car park with numerous bags.

From your comments I cannot ascertain which room you were in but I have passed your posting to my housekeeping manger who will investigate - apologies we couln't rectify this during your stay, or move you to an alternative room.

Many thanks again for bringing these comments to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was impressed. I was in the Kendal area for work and turned to the normally trusty best western group to book. And once again was not disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent and the views even better. Both my room and the reastrant had excellent views out over Kendal and beyond. The service was good both at reception and in the adjoining pub where I ate.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxitup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the hotel. It has many facilities, a leisure centre with a large pool steam room and gym, all areas were very clan and tidy bit it lacked a jaccuzi . There is a banqueting and conference suite which during our stay was hosting a large event, the organisation of the hotel is such that this event in no way impinged on the hotel guests.
Food is served in the main restaurant, the staff and levels of service were excellent. Unlike a lot of hotels, breakfast was a well organised self service buffet. As well as the hotel bar there is a separate pub which also serves meals.
Notwithstanding all these activities taking place there was ample car parking albeit split over three levels.
Make the hotel aware If you have mobility problems, as some of the rooms are up many stairs and a long way from reception and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here when attending a friend's wedding a few miles away. It wasn't cheap - over £130 for the room for one night - and the room was miles from reception, small, and with VERY dated decor (the furnishings must've dated from the early 1990s).

Arriving back at the hotel late at night, we asked if any food was available. When the night barmaid stopped sighing, she told us we could have a pizza. In my opinion they'd be better off not raising anyone's hopes, and should just say "no". The pizza was a tomato flavoured biscuit - disgusting.

Being of Cumbrian stock I find it depressing that this is supposed to be one of the best hotels in the South Lakes. Very disappointing and I wouldn't return. I've had better experiences at the Premier Inn in Kendal town centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stetay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Many thanks for your email. Apologies that you did not feel your stay represented value for money. As an independent hotel we have invested over £1.5 Million pounds over the last 2 years in updated our bedrooms, bathrooms and public areas and consider our pricing reflects the excellent facilities we provide.

I was particular concerned regarding your comment of an evening snack. We have a comprehensive room service and lounge menu which is managed by the bar staff and then the nights team. Given the length of time since your visit and your posting unfortunately I am limited as to isolating the night barmaid you speak of but I will pass these comments on to the operations manager to take up with the respective teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a lovely hotel just on a hill outside kendal centre so it has great views but need a taxi to get back at night. our room was nice and clean the staff helpful and informative and they recommended us some great places to eat during our stay (well, all except 1!). kendal is a lovely town just outside the busy lakes and we would definately use this hotel again when we return here. Oh, and the swimming pool is only small but lovely

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakescouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for a brief birthday treat. It's a lovely hotel, beautifully placed on a hillside. The view from the restaurant window is of Kendal town below, with mountains in the background. We didn't use the pool or spa, but it is obviously very popular and looked attractive. Our room was warm and comfortable, the double bed a little smaller than was ideal but we slept well nonetheless. There were two armchairs in the room, which was nice as often one gets only one plus a hard desk chair. The breakfast was very good - nice quality cooked food and plenty of variety for the continental option. At the Greenhouse restaurant we tried the Cumbrian tasting menu- a wonderful gourmet experience, beautifully presented and , by London standards at any rate, not overpriced. But perhaps the best thing about the hotel is the friendly smiling service. Everyone was cheerful and eager to help. Altogether a very good hotel for a really relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing