We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Booths

Booths
Ranked #111 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: large coffee shop under Booths supermarket in Kendal. there is a café menu and sandwich, cakes, soft and alcoholic drinks available
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just today had a great lunch served by friendly happy staff, good to have knowledgable people to talk to and to serve you. Staff frinedly and curteous. Food excellent. Must mention both the greeter and our waitress Michael and Liz for being professional and charming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    58
    43
    51
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely; let down only by a lack of customer service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I have visited this restaurant a few times and the food has always been delicious and the restaurant is nice, comfortable and quiet. Food is cooked from fresh apparently using ingredients that can all be bought from their store.
Most of the staff are quite nice however we have had the misfortune of meeting a couple of rude staff.
On our first visit (a decision that was made suddenly on a whim while shopping) we remembered we had a Hi-Life card and asked if it was okay to use it as we have heard that some restaurants require you to book in advance to use it. We were told by the girl that it would be no problem at all.
The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. My husband had the Cumberland sausage while I tried their gourmet style burger. We then had a selection of mini-puddings between us.
After the meal we were surprised to be given a bill for the full amount and upon asking were told rather smugly by the manager that we should have booked in advance. We explained we'd asked before eating and been given the go-ahead but he only gave in when we firmly stood our ground on the matter.
On another occasion we were completely ignored by an older waiter for 20 minutes while he decided he'd rather talk to his friends who were dining at a nearby table than serve us after which he walked away before we could ask him anything.
We have went back a few times and are likely to visit again but only because of the surroundings and because the food is so lovely; if they can improve the customer service skills of their staff, it will be the perfect restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrithys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Twice in 2 days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant for Sunday lunch and then we retuened the next day for a brunch.
Both visits were fine and I am surprised at the negative comments about staff being self important etc. I would not tolerate rudeness but found all the staff we dealt with extremely professional and courteous.
The roast beef for Sunday lunch was cut to our choices - 2 rare and 2 medioum rare and you could see the difference - and the food was excellent.
Brunch was more than adequate and I can only suggest that those reviewers who had poor experiences might want to try it again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paisleypark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tees Valley
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Artisan delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great fresh food, freshly prepared and freshly cooked when ordered and good value too. How refreshing is that?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidTeesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had lunch with my wife and went for the shared Artisan platter,very good but was there too much food?

However service was friendly but a little slow,especially when paying.The platter as mentioned was large but really nice with a good selection of cheese and meats.

Good atmosphere and decor at the Artisan with lots of families and couples but you didnt feel cramped at all.


All in all nice venue

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booths also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Booths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing