We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, slow service”
Review of Booths

Booths
Ranked #114 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: large coffee shop under Booths supermarket in Kendal. there is a café menu and sandwich, cakes, soft and alcoholic drinks available
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, slow service”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were greeted and sat down relatively quickly. Too long waiting for our order to be taken and then at least twenty minutes before our drinks arrived. The children by now were restless. Finally the food arrived. An artisan board to share was delicious and different. More than enough for 2. The children had sausage and mash, very tasty for them although a shame that it wasn't served with vegetables. The staff seemed far too busy wiping tables to chat with customers. Unsure of where to pay and rudely pointed to another till by a member of staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    47
    51
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good quality food but service could of been slightly better.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visited this branch of Artisan today and wasn't really impressed or dissapointed, the service was very attentive from the staff but there just didn't seem to be that many of them, we also witnessed A party of 3 sit down at A table, 1 of the ladies in the party was disabled, for them to be told they couldn't sit there by A member of staff and would have to go back to the front of the restaurant and wait to be seated. They walked out which I don't blame them, after all there was no one else waiting to be seated, so surely a little discreation could of been used.
Overall I would go back if I was in the area but I think the branch in Lytham has A much better atmosphere and their staff are lovley.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blackpoolbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretentious nonsense!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've twice tried this place and twice been flabbergasted at the attitude of staff, who are full of their own self importance. At best the food is mediocre and the value poor.
We're very fond of Booths and thought this would match their reputation, but we shall not return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, and they take Tastecard !”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice atmosphere, polite and friendly staff, great choice of teas and excellent food, we will definately be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ste1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretty village, north yokshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local food. Superbly presented. Lovely restaurant setting under Booths”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We go here at least once a month. The menu doesn't seem to change much, but there is a vast selection of traditional and contemporary recipes. when the food arrives it is exceptionally well presented. Portion sizes are value for money. This place is a little more expensive than you might normally pay - but the choices should make everyone happy. There's smaller portions and heafty plate fulls - depends on your appetite - off you go. It's local food served by local people in a lovely setting. I never feel rushed here. We've had just a cup of tea and cake. More often it's at least two courses and just once the full three course works. You never come out hungry. Slightest grumble would be the drinks prices, but that's everywhere these days. Kendal Town council also need to sort out their parking policy as I suspect their shorter times for on street parking is going to send a lot of us away?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mad-anna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booths also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Booths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing