We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view, very friendly greeting by & kind staff at arrival, disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely view, very friendly greeting by & kind staff at arrival, disappointing room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We decided to stay here for an economical 1 night hotel stay. We got a really warm reception & a very kind woman getting everything sorted in our room (the settee had been made up as a bed for our 10 month old son instead of a cot - I had requested the cot). She very quickly got the settee unmade & got the cot for us. In addition, she was very helpful to explain the meal ticket vouchers for the next door service area eatery. (You pay £7.50 for £10 worth of voucher to eat next door.)

Our room had a fantastic view of the lake. Otherwise it was a bit disappointing. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling above the bath and in the corner by the bathroom door. Our heated towel rail did not work at all. The floor didn't appear to have been vacuumed as when we sat on the floor to play with our baby, we could see various things (bits of food, dirt, etc.) on it. Along the bottom of the bed where there is a fabric panel, it was covered with dog fur. I think it's great that the hotel takes dogs for dog owners. But I'd also hope they'd thoroughly vacuum a room once a pet has departed and they obviously didn't... & lastly, which was the main concern, our mattress was horrid. It was very springy & obviously either incredibly cheap to start with or long overdue to replace. The springs on it were something you could feel when you rolled over in bed - not good.

It was a cheaper place to stay, but not that cheap when compared to a B&B for example - it was still £60 for the room for the night. And by the time we paid for the vouchers for the meals next door, it added up fast. So, unless you have a pet or get a REALLY cheap rate, I'd give it a miss.

Dinner at the service area eatery was fine. It was junk food, but still freshly prepared & decent value for money. Breakfast, however, was a different story. The eggs were cooked fresh, but the only choice was fried. You only got 1 piece of toast with your breakfast, no tea or coffee. And it was REALLY pricey. So, perhaps buy 2 vouchers for breakfast or eat elsewhere if you can.

We won't stay there again, but we definitely appreciated the very nice & helpful woman on reception.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have windows facing the lake, but if not, then request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandjaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry you had such a disappointing stay. Please be assured these are not the standards we usually provide at Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake). We are currently undering a period of refurbishment which is including painting the rooms, and replacing the mattresses. As for the housekeeping issues you found, I can only apologise. I have already spoken to the team and am confident this will not happen again. I am delighted though at how helpful the Receptionist was and I will make sure your lovely comments are passed on.

Rather than a set breakfast, we offer a breakfast voucher. This costs our guests' £7.50 per voucher and gives them £10 to spend on whatever they choose from the Roadchef restaurant. You can spend the voucher on a cooked breakfast, or alternatively on the continental selection - such as croissants, pastries and fruit - that the restaurant offers. The voucher works like a £10 note, so although tea, coffee and toast are not included in the set breakfast Roadchef offer, with one of our vouchers you can purchase a traditional breakfast, toast and a hot drink. For every adult voucher purchased, up to three children receive a free Roadchef Kids Breakfast.

We would love the opportunity to show you the standards we normally provide at our hotel and hope you will visit us again. If I can be of any further help, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    163
    118
    42
    26
See reviews for
93
223
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked this hotel through a paper promotion and so it only cost us £10 a night! BARGAIN.
We read previous very discouraging reviews and were actually dreading what we were walking into. However what a difference we found compared to these reviews. I can only say that some people must have bad backs carrying around the chips on their shoulders. OK, the room was basic but it was clean, presentable and comfortable. We used it as a base to tour the local areas. PERFECT. The kids even wrote thank you messages to the staff and were delighted to get little messages back.
We had a room with a double and 2 singles and it was huge with the kids beds in their own little room accessed via an archway leading from the main room!
Staff were extremely helpful and courteous and for £7.50 you can get £10 toward a breakfast deal in the next door Roadchef with the children eating for free. EXCELLENT VALUE. However, be aware that hot drinks are expensive and there is nothing at all to do except look at the lakes.
Overall, an excellent stay we thoroughly recommend if you are staying for similar reasons above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as reception to negate using stairs. A bonus is a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonAndFamilyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do only have two of the larger family rooms, so if you would like to ensure we allocate you one of these on your next visit, please do contact the hotel directly and we will do our utmost to assist you. The team loved receiving the notes from your children - if I remember correctly they had left the room beautifully tidy for our housekeepers! Unfortunately the £10 promotion has now finished, however please do keep an eye on our website for some of the other special offers we regularly run. I do hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Hotel v near lakes. Rooms fine & some which overlook lake. Some of beds have that awful waterproof under sheet which is so hot. Found staff so helpful plus v helpful @ unprepossessing service station

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarquisofCaribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. It is always lovely to hear such positive feedback about the team - they all work so hard to make sure all our guests have a fantastic holiday. I'm so sorry you were disappointed by our mattress protectors. We are in the process of changing all the waterproof ones that you describe, I can only apologise we hadn't yet changed your room. When you visit next time we will make sure it has been completed! I'm so pleased you found our location so convenient. I think being situated on the motorway service area makes life very easy if you want to use Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) as a base for exploring either the Lake District or, in the other direction, The Yorkshire Dales. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Good quality room, friendly and helpful staff, free wifi (wasnt working though and free parking, overall quite good! Would recommended due to promixity to motorway and beautiful lake just behind... no fridge or microwave though

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jraja123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake). I'm so pleased you were happy with your stay. Unfortunately our Wi-Fi is not working, and we have updated our website to ensure all our guests are aware of this before booking. Please do keep an eye on the site so that we can let you know when it is working again. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful view over Killington Lake. If you book with us in the future, please make sure you request a lake view room as, although most do overlook the lake, we do have some that do not. We do not provide microwaves or fridges in the rooms as we feel this would add too much to the cost of the rooms. I do hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Recently stayed at the Days Inn Killington Lake near Kendal.
The hotel was great value for money using the Daily Mirror vouchers.
The Room was a family room, with a separate archway to the two twin beds, as well as a double bed in the main part of the room. Colour flat screen television, hairdryer and tea making facilities also available. There was also a bed settee in the room. The bathroom also had a shower, everything you could possible need, with plenty of hot water.
The Room was very very clean the sheets crisp and white and the beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. Even the net curtains and the curtains were crisp and clean which is not always the case when visiting hotels.
Had a great nights sleep with no noise disturbing us from the motorway.
The staff were quiety efficient and friendly.
The voucher scheme was good value purchasing at £7.50 but spend value £10 in the service area next door.
Finding the hotel on the motorway was a bit of a problem, but eventually found it by coming off at junction 37 and taking an immediate right turn back on the motorway south bound and just up the motorway we found the Days Inn.
The room looked out onto Killington Lake and the view was great, most of the rooms have a lake view, so all in all had a good time in a very comfortable hotel.
Used an AA route map to help us find the hotel, but even they got the directions wrong when coming off the motorway, they advised three quarters of a mile before right turn back onto the south bound motorway, but in actual fact its an immediate right turn, so will be contacting them to inform them of the error.
Thank you.
L.Nasby

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UllYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You had one of our large family rooms and unfortunately we only have two of these so, if you would like to book one of these in the future please do contact the hotel directly so we can make sure you are allocated one of these if they are available. Luckily we are very well hidden from the motorway by a large hill so we don't have problems with traffic noise - especially if you are in one of our lake view rooms. I am sorry you had trouble finding us. It can be a little tricky the first time if you are coming up from the South, but the good news is once you've found us the first time it's much easier the next time! I think the AA was probably trying to direct you down the private access road we have for our guests' to use if they need to get northbound again. I will certainly get in touch with them to see if we can resolve that problem. I do hope you'll return to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon - keep checking the website for special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very helpful, friendly staff. Rooms very basic but very clean. Limited TV channels. Beds extremely comfortable. We got this as a special offer of £25 per night so excellent value for money. Hotel sell vouchers for £7.50 which are worth £10 at the Roadchef next door where the food is very good. One word of warning ! Don't rely on your Satnav as the postcode for the hotel takes you to the wrong side of the lake - the staff were very familiar with this problem. If you're travelling from the South leave the M6 at junction 37, turn right on to the A684, then get back on the M6 southbound. You can only access the services from the southbound side of the motorway. Try and get a lakeside view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you had problems with Sat Nav, as you say, it is a problem we are aware of, and we are currently working on resolving the issue as soon as we can - the postcode is correct, it just unfortunately covers quite a large area as we are so rural!
I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon, the £25 offer you mention is running until April 2011. If you would like to request a lake view room, please do contact the hotel directly as they are very popular! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

we booked this hotel through the daily mirror promotion and so it only cost us £10 a night! fab bargain!!

we had a room with a double and 2 singles and wow it was huge, the singles were in their own little room accessed via an archway leading from the main room!

staff were extremely helpful and our room was neat and tidy upon our arrival!

just a small grumble, down the back of the sofa we found a puzzle book and pencils, so the sofa had obviouls just been hoovered around!! and the side of one of the single beds was thick with dust, i saw this as i pushed 2 singles together to make one bed.

apart from the smal grumble i was thoroughly impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanglish_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The room you stayed in is one of only two of this type in the hotel. If you would like to book that room in future please do contact the hotel directly so we can allocate the correct room type for you. Please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping issues you found. Please be assured I have spoken to the housekeeping team about it to ensure it does not happen again. Although the £10 Daily Mirror offer has now finished, please do check our website for the most up to date special offers. I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Property: Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Address: M6 | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Hotel Kendal
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing