We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice but expensive drinks”
Review of Wakefield Arms

Wakefield Arms
Ranked #66 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
kendal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good choice but expensive drinks”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friday night, table for 3. We were shown to our table and the waitress introduced herself and took our drinks order. Pear cider, Stella shandy and blackcurrant and soda. She would come back for the food order. The drinks arrived at the same time as husband and the food orders were made. We chose gammon, and two mushroom risottos (1 with chicken). We waited around 15 minutes for the food to arrive and it was hot, well cooked and smelling great. We also had a side salad.
The risotto was excellent. Creamy and quite filling. The gammon was quite large, chips were not overdone and the accompaniments were fine. The tables are not so close you feel overlooked but the place was pretty busy. No pressure to leave so we took our time . The only downside was the price of the drinks, nearly £13 for the three. We don't eat here that often but it's usually a good meal so will use again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimib55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    62
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“From bad to worse.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Arrive here Sunday evening, waited 10 mins to be seated, 4 members of staff saw us stood waiting and ignored us, just about to leave and then seated by someone in training (this person was the best member of staff there). We ordered some "hot" drinks which were warm at best - when we mentioned it, we were told that's how it comes out of the machine! 2 of us had burgers which were alright, but the plates must of being in the fridge as our food soon went cold. Another ordered lasanga which looked like plastic, tasted like plastic and was worse than the cheapest ready meal you can get from a supermarket. Service was slow and very disoraginased, no leadership and staff were too busy talking or flirting with other staff whom were off duty loitering our the bar. It was freezing inside we sat with coats on all evening and when we went outside into the pouring rain it was warmer. For desert we went to Macdonalds, which in comparison was fantastic. I'll leave you to make you own mind up on that. My advice, stay at home, go to KFC or Macdonalds but don't waste your money going here. I won't be returning

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RIC9002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went last night for a friends birthday, me and my partner had the ribs and chicken combo, today I've not been off the toilet and my partner has stomach ache. Pretty certain most food is microwaved and was told the mash potato is actually 'smash' lovely. Wakefield arms has definitely gone downhill

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theadamsfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude and lazy staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The restaurant and bar itself is clean and comfortable but sadly the staff are spoiling what could be a good place to eat/drink.
When arriving alone with two young children on a Sunday afternoon, although the place was virtually empty I was ignored at the bar while my 6 year old hunted for a high chair for her brother. I was then told to sit anywhere and handed a photocopied sheet of paper and told that this list was all they had on the menu. No details were given on availability of kids meals, so again I had to wait for staff to finish their chat at the bar before I could enquire about this.
When the food came, it looked completely unappetising, as if it had been warmed up from the night before.
I very much doubt I will be wasting my money here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruberob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Table Table”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not a good experience on visit and no credit to Premier Inns. Seats were grubby, food and service 1 star. Complaint to manager met with indifference and it was decided to leave after starter course.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckstraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakefield Arms also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Wakefield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing