We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The tired looking hotel is not matched by the great staff led by a manager who seems to really care for his guest we had a room at the front of the hotel and apart from a couple of minor things it was fine good food would recommend this hotel ,don't be put off by the tired front it's a budget hotel with four star manager and staff give it a go

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    73
    34
    37
See reviews for
29
92
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked into the County Hotel in Kendal as we were going to a concert at the Brewery Arts Centre. It was easy to find in the car, but no parking outside and once you get stuck in the Kendal road system it was a pain to find our way back again. Whilst driving round the second time we phoned the hotel to find out where to park and they told us in the Pharmacy car park opposite.

It's a pretty dated hotel, the front was having a lick of paint on the windowsills when we arrived.

Check in was good, the manager is a lovely guy, couldn't be more pleasant or helpful.

Carpets throughout the hotel are worn and mismatched. The room itself (twin) was drab and in need of a new roll of wallpaper and a lick of paint. Furnishings were old, tatty and mismatched. The bathroom really badly needed painted, there was streaks of different colour paint on one wall and peeling paint and plaster on the other.

HOWEVER.... the place was spotlessly clean, bedding was crisp and white, two plump pillows and a really comfy bed. Bathroom was also spotless. Nice white fresh towels too.

We had a room only rate so paid for breakfast at £5.00 per head the next morning. Tinned fruits, single serve cereals, juices and a full English on offer.

Bad points: Juice glasses were stuck to the tray, toast came piled on a plate so was soggy, only given two pats of butter for 4 slices of toast, no menus to choose cooked options.

Good points: Things replenished quickly when run out, brown toast brought to the table as standard, veggie sausages (unexpected) nice quality food, staff eager to please.

So all in all, no complaints about the cleanliness (except the juice glasses), the staff and management, we would happily stay again knowing what to expect, but a tin or two of paint would not go amiss. Oh, and please sort WIFI, we couldn't get it at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Does the job. The staff is very helpful and nice, but the hotel need a refurbish. The rooms are very very old. The English breakfast is alright.
The WiFi is horrible. It works very very bad and only in the reception

Room Tip: If you need to use WiFi dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here with my partner. We felt we had been charged standard for a sub standard room . There was no hot water .and it appears the instructions we were given. we're not complete. ie .receptionists came up took hosepipe of floor put on tap and blew into tap hot water came on come on the dark ages have ages wen I paid up I asked for discount. The past caring attitude of staff was disgusting

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, convenient parking and good location close to center of town.

I had a very small single room which was reasonably clean but definitely shabby (not chic) which is the general feeling throughout the hotel. Wifi only worked within about 6 feet of the reception desk. Baring in mind the price and the fact it is a 2 star hotel it was OK value.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The cheery welcome we got from all the staff on our arrival was lovely. The rooms are basic but fine and clean. The breakfast is also fine, it's not Jamie Oliver, it's sausage, bacon, egg and beans... And if your there on the right day, a mushroom too! The manager went out of his way to make me up a pretty buttonhole from the vase of flowers on the reception desk, and allowed my daughter to pillage his previously perfect arrangement so she could wear flowers in her hair to the wedding we were attending. The hotel is literally over the road from the train station, so all the delights of the area easily accessible. It's 10 minutes from centre of Kendal and it's a lovely place to meander around in. Lots of nice restaurants, coffee shops and shops. We were well taken care of and were very satisfied with the place. It's cost reflects it's value for money honest promotion and I would happily stay there again. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katiebrown050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was interested to read such good reviews on your Hotel and staff, as I am coming to stay next week with Grand UK holidays. As a single traveller it is always difficult re room and seating in d. room so I now have good expectations., and look forward to meeting you all. M. Bell

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing