We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again Perfect”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again Perfect”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friends and I, including our Ladies, from various parts of England and Scotland, meet up in Kendal 5 or 6 times a year for charitable purposes in the masonic hall adjoining this hotel. Having experienced other hotels in the area we always choose to stay in The County. It is always spotlessly clean and the food plentiful, well cooked and tasty. On our last visit we were most impressed with the recent refurbishment of the bar/ballroom and dining area. Drinks prices are reasonable and the staff friendly and helpful. The night receptionist/barman works hard and is most efficient. Kevin, the manager is friendly and helpful and will always pass on advice about the local towns and the area in general. Nothing is too much trouble for him. He runs a tight ship in a relaxed manner and seems to have the friendship and respect of his staff. The waitresses always seem to be smiling and if you want more toast or tea, you only have to ask. Service if prompt and efficient. If you are going out walking, I can heartily recommend their packed lunches to give you the stamina to walk the nearby lakeland fells. Okay, some other hotels have swimming pools and Spas, if that is what you want, stay there and pay their prices, but if you want a genuine, warm welcome and the personal touch that is lacking in many hotels, then The County is for you. On our last stay, we forward booked dates in September and December to make sure that rooms are available for us.

Ralph Hutchings .... Rainford

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay and the positive comments. We know we have some work to do to update some areas and rooms, but the hotel is very clean and the staff are proud to work there and this counts for a lot. We will eventually upgrade the hotel as funds become available.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    87
    73
    35
    37
See reviews for
29
93
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in February and would strongly recommend. Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, lovely hot shower, amazing breakfast. Close to the station, close to town. All that I was looking for. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay and I will pass this on to the management and staff who will be pleased to read their services have been recognised.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtownshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

was at this hotel for three days on a dodds of troon coach trip staff and manager were helpful friendly and efficent the breakfasts and dinners were excellant the room and and bathroom was spotless though bed a little lumpy entertainer on sat night was very good would definetly stay again

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesfromGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Opertions Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review

I will pass this on to management and his team who will be very please to read your comments.

Once again, many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with Grand UK Holidays. I found the staff and manager Kevin extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellant. Admittedly the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift, but my bed and shower facilities were spotless. I would definitely stay again, just for the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Many thanks for your rcent comments.

I will pas this on to my manager and his team for their perusal.

Once again, many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the County Hotel for two nights. The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. Kevin was a friendly and personable man and also the lovely jolly young lady who seemed to take on so many roles - she was on reception, the bar, serving breakfast and always willing to please with a smile on her face.
The breakfast was hot, tasty and well cooked and there was a sufficient choice of cereals and toast. We slept well at the hotel but found that the breakfast times were too short and too early (9.15 finish on a Sunday)!

The hotel was very well situated for walking into the lovely town of Kendal with it's plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel was quite tired and dated and our room was in need of some serious tlc. The paper was peeling off the wall and the light fitting over the bed was loose and far too low that I was unable to sit up in bed otherwise the bulb would have burnt my head. We couldn't get our tv to work but were not particularly concerned with this as we went out in the evenings. However, the room was as clean as it could have been given the old fitments.

We enjoyed great evening entertainment by a very talented man on the electic guitar - he was truly amazing. We had intended to have a quick drink in the bar and then pop out elsewhere but ended up staying all night and buying lots of drinks at the bar!!

Room Tip: A room at the end of the corridor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ange196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Carmel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a very enjoyable stay at this hotel stays of 2 nights ,staff were very pleasant cheery and helpful, rooms were clean, kettle in room and happy to see there was plenty if milk which you don't usually see in many hotels,lovely breakfast filled me up for the day. Wasn't defected by any house, will definitely stay here again .

Kath rodgers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comments of which I will pass on to my manager and team.

We do strive to get things right and hopefully your comments will help.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The room was in need of a good overhaul, the shower was full of mould.
The hotel generally looked as if it could do with a good clean. There was a coach party staying the same time as my wife and I which meant the staff were rushed off their feet. Our sleep was constantly interupted throughout the night when late night reellers were coming in, also eerytime anyone visited the toilet the noise. However we did enjoy an excellent evening meal but that was at the hotel up the road.

Room Tip: The Rierside Hotel up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for putting your thoughts and comments on paper.

I am surprised to read that your room was not clean and that you think the otel is shabby. We do strive to make things as clean as possible and have had great success the last year under the new Manager Kevin.

We do take coach holiday guests but tis should not affect the service you are given. Thank you for your good commets on the food, Kieth our new head chef is a true professional and a pleasure to work with.

Once again many thanks for your comments of whic I will pass on the my manager.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing