We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

'When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Alan the owner.The room we had was very clean,modern and comfortable with a large jacuzzi en-suite bathroom.Breakfast was included and was not only cooked to your liking but also to perfection.In addition there was a huge range of cereals,yoghurt and fruits.The Glen is situated approx 2 miles from Kendal and 9 miles from Windermere easily accessible by a short walk down the hill to the train station and the bus stop.We hope to return to the Glen when we next visit the area.The owners go that extra mile to make sure you have everything you need for an enjoyable stay.Thanks a million Alan and Chris for your fantastic hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
89
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked to stay here very last minute for one night on a beautiful weekend during the 'sunny season'. We were met by the lovely couple who run it and they could not have been more welcoming.

The location is fab, it is very quiet yet only a few hundred yards from the train station and a pub with a fantastic children’s play area (the station inn). The helm, which is a huge hilly area to let the dogs run free is literally across the road from the pub a very short walk on a lead to get to it.

The family room we had was very spacious and clean, with lovely hand/body wash and creams. The bathroom was also spacious and the bath/shower were very good. There is a TV/DVD player in the room which is handy especially with children and they have an extensive DVD library. The beds were fresh and comfortable and the views from the room - stunning!

I was annoyed with myself for not reading other reviews before we went as I would have found out about the hot tub, which looked very inviting, but sadly we didn't take our costumes!! We will certainly make the most of that next time we go.

The Breakfast is pre-ordered to your own specification and served between 08:30 – 09:00 am they use very tasty high quality ingredients and there’s plenty of it!! They also bake their own bread which is delicious and warm.

A nice touch (although we did not partake) is the complimentary sherry on offer!

We went to the Station Inn for tea and although very impressed with the play area, the food was not to our taste. It was very much pub grub rather than restaurant standard, with a lot of the food deep fried. We did go on to The Punch Bowl which is a couple of miles the opposite direction and although we didn’t eat there (we were only there one night) the pub looked to have been recently modernised and was that bit more upmarket. Reading the menu, it was more suited to our personal tastes and we will probably try that out next time.
We took the train to Windermere (20 min journey £15 return for a family of 4) which was great to experience entertain the children (boating on the lake etc)
Overall, a fantastic place, highly recommended. In the words of Arnie “I’LL BE BACK”
Many Thanks
Anita and Keith

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azariaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this very comfortable guest house with our two collie dogs. The room was spacious, very clean,comfortable,and well equipped. The breakfast was of excellent quality cooked by Chris and served by Alan. Very welcoming and friendly people who not only looked after us but our two dogs as well. This guest house is also in walking distance of a pub that sells good food and a lovely walk on the helm, particularly good if you have a dog. Would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Glen on a work related visit to Cautley. This was an excellent place to relax the night before. The room had everything you could ever need and more. The location is gorgeous with a decent walk available just a few metres away, The Helm, with beautiful views and of course the trig point (yes I did know what one of those is, to Alan's surprise). Excellent breakfast with freshly baked bread, yummy! The sun was shining and it was just bliss!

Room Tip: If you need lots of cupboard space ask for the room with the key called 'private'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at The Glen Guest House on my way down to Surrey from Fort William, and did the same on my return 2 days later, I was on my motorbike and very wet and Alan had the garage door open for me to put my bike in when I arrived. The room was comfortable and warm just what I needed to relax after 250 miles in the rain. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice.
Would definitely recommend this lovely Guest House. Thanks Alan and Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueade11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Day 2 of w2w Barny castle to Kendal 68 mile then this place wow, on route pub opposite thick pillows n quilts bathrooms n shower absolutely top notch, then it got better a take away and use of a hot tub, beer wine great. Breakfast amazing massive choice full bike storage and again the washed our stinky clothes deffo advise this for any family or group

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6inarowFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacksteads
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Alan was gutted when we didnt turn up on the bike, but we promise to bring more of us when we go back, what a fantastic place to stay loved every minute of our it, room was perfect, as was the breakfast, and the hot tub (wow), attentive without being intrusive, Alan and Chris hope you ready for more of us this summer, we will be back. Thats not a threat thats a promise, ty so much again.

Ant n Shaz

Lancashire Road Riders

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Station Inn Oxenholme
Station Inn Oxenholme
#14 of 42 in Kendal
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Property: The Glen Guest House
Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing