We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great with children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pumpkins Bistro

Pumpkins Bistro
Ranked #13 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is licensed and has an unfussy pleasant ambience enhanced by attractive artwork, some by a local artist, which gives it a Mediterranean feel. The menus are varied and very reasonably priced, all the food is sourced locally and our meat is predominately produced in Cumbria. Opening times:Mon-Wed: 9.30am-5.00pmThurs, Fri, Saturday: 9.30am-8.30pm.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We visited Pumpkin bistro Sat 24/11. With 4 adults and 4 children we were served promptly and also got some advice when requested. We all enjoyed our meals and can definitely recommend the fish & chips. Puddings were served quickly too, even though there was a large party in by then. All the staff were very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank AAAB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    67
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent, home-cooked "hale and hearty" food. Plentiful portions and a fraction of the price of similar food in a pub.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonACumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem!1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Called in for lunch on the recommendation of a local and we weren't disappointed. Excellent food from an interesting menu, comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced. All of us were impressed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MorpethDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“would recommend!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped here on our way home to Manchester after having quite a trek around Kendal, we almost ended up with KFC!

The decoration was lovely, the waitress was fantastic. the houmous was delicious, although 1 small pitta bread is a bit of a mean portion! I had the cassoulet upon recommendation from the waitress who said it was a big portion (wasnt enough to fill me!) whilst my children and partner had the fish and chips!

the food wasn't extroadinary, but we did enjoy it and would go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naomis2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most awesome scones in Kendal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I called in to Pumpkins recently as I had heard excellent reviews about this new restaurant and I used to visit the owner's previous restaurant (Bistro 21 in Bowness). The scones were delicious...just as I remembered from Bistro 21 and served with plenty of jam and real clotted cream! :)
This is a family run business and they are just as cheerful, polite and welcoming as usual. The decor is lovely too.
Very good value for money and I will be returning soon to sample some more culinary delights on offer!!
PS-service very efficient so would recommend to people like myself who work in Kendal for a lunch break treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpkins Bistro also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Pumpkins Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing