We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come on feel the noize” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PizzaExpress

PizzaExpress
Ranked #29 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come on feel the noize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

On entering on a Sunday evening we were met by a barrage of noise from the two children's parties that were going on. When we asked to be seated at the quiet end of the room the waitress misunderstood and turned the music down (I actually like the PE music). Actually, once you get attuned, the racket in places like this becomes part of a quite pleasant atmosphere. I always think the food and drink in PE is overpriced but it's a good experience, so you can't grumble.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Padger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    84
    36
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Food was good, service was good, but menu choices quite limited if you don't like pizza. I tried two salads on two visits, both were good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kingavoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Big, efficient brand fits in surprisingly well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm a fan of small, quaint, independent foods, so I was more than pleased when this big brand performed beyond all expectations.

I turned up, on spec, with a friend, with a special offer voucher, on a weekend. It appeared every other soul in Kendal had done also, it was heaving.

But, we were treated as individuals, welcomed, seated, served (after a little wait, unsurprisingly) and not once did we feel pressured in clearing the table or hurrying up so they could seat the ever growing queue.

I think their menu is a little pricey, but the special offer made it attractive and the quality and taste was spot on.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“solid pizza express”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

nice dining room, pleasant service,PE menu and prices,easy-to-find location.You can't reallyfault or say anyhting great in its favour.It does what it aims to do well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laygatelad2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family of four ate at Pizza Express in Kendal last weekend. The service was lovely and friendly (thanks Hannah) and the food was pretty good, as it is in most Pizza Express restaurants. The location is central and the restaurant attractive- we liked the wooden lake district images. The only criticism we have is that it was pretty cold!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PizzaExpress also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to PizzaExpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing