We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kendal
Post
Inbox
Search

“Dog Friendly and Good Beer”
Review of Ye Olde Fleece Inn

Ye Olde Fleece Inn
Ranked #46 of 176 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $14 - $23
Description: Unique gastropub in Kendal the heart of South Lakes. Amazing food, great atmosphere and fantastic service. Quality ales, artisan gins and craft beer. Log fires, historic setting at Kendal's oldest Inn. Perfect for groups, families, friends and solo travellers.
Restaurant details
Description: Unique gastropub in Kendal the heart of South Lakes. Amazing food, great atmosphere and fantastic service. Quality ales, artisan gins and craft beer. Log fires, historic setting at Kendal's oldest Inn. Perfect for groups, families, friends and solo travellers.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for a cheeky pinter with my dog, brilliant atmosphere and efficient service. Would recommend the Wainwright Altitude. Brian would recommend the dog biscuits!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank TerryTT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshmacaulay, Owner at Ye Olde Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, the Wainwright altitude has been really popular, we put it on for the Kendal mountain film festival and it has ended up staying. Most important that Brian had a good dog biscuit. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A really lovely atmosphere and interesting building. Pay before you always makes me nervous eating. Had soup carrot and parsnip poorly seasoned. The Fish cakes werent special teriyaki on menu. Was a tsatsiki attempt and if they were homemade to much nam pla or past the sell by date. Keep trying it's a special building went to get my own cutlery none when the food arrived?

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank allank985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshmacaulay, Owner at Ye Olde Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Allan, Thank you for your review, am really pleased you like the place we have spent a huge amount of time and energy getting it to this stage. We ask please to pay when they order as it ensures an efficient service, we did sending bills to tables but it just didn't seem to work, we would always ask that if anyone was unhappy to come and let us know. Thank you for your review about the fishcakes, they are indeed homemade, we are currently looking at reviewing them, will feed your comments back to our chefs. Cutlery is at the end of the bar, will fed back to our front of house team to point it out. Thank you for your helpful feedback. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

New to Kendal, we ventured in one Sunday for lunch because we were sick of unpacking the cardboard boxes in the new house. It was a revelation! Proper tasty roast with delicious beef, real gravy and friendly, helpful staff.
Since then we have been about three times more, twice bringing friends who were equally impressed. We are creatures of habit but also feel no need to change a winning formula. A pint, a glass of Malbec, a roast dinner . These are life's pleasures.
We visited just for a drink too during the Mountain Festival and were impressed with the beers on sale and the lively atmosphere in the pub. I think you can safely say we will be back.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peteh695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshmacaulay, Owner at Ye Olde Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Pete, Firstly Welcome to Kendal, its a fantastic town, you ma made the right choice, loads going on. The Mountain Film Festival is always a fantastic weekend. Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the food, we have tired very hard to produce something very special using local ingredients. We had input form an international wine judge on our wine selection, am pleased you approve. Very much look forward to welcoming you back, Do let us know of any menu suggestions you would like to see added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely warm welcoming Pub. Real fires made it very cosy, pleasant, helpful staff.

I ordered Smoked Haddock Linguine it arrived piping hot and was delicious. My husband had Scampi which was equally delicious. So filling we couldn't manage a pudding.

We sampled there Pasion Fruit Gin from a vast range of flavours.

Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank suel960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshmacaulay, Owner at Ye Olde Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sue, We quite agree log fires on theses cold days are so important, nothing better than to sit by a lovely log fire. The Smoked Haddock Linguine is new on the menu will feed you lovely feedback to our chef. Thank you for your kind words, look forward to seeing you again soon. (P.S we are currently developing a pudding menu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was really looking forward to my meal out with friends but was sadly disappointed . The vegetarian menu was unimaginative at best but I ordered the burger hoping that because they had few choices they would do the ones that they had well . It wasn’t good . I asked for no cheese but got cheese and the bun was brioche so the dish couldn’t be eaten by a vegan. The burger tasted unpleasant and I couldn’t finish it. This restaurant needs a proper vegetarian/ vegan dish cooked with imagination and love. I felt like it was stuck in the 90’s for veggie food . Upside was it was a pleasant venue and the staff were lovely .

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RosieS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshmacaulay, Owner at Ye Olde Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rosie, thank you so much for your feedback we have spend a long time and energy to develop a very special venue. We are currently reviewing our vegetarian options, we want them to be imaginative, fresh and interesting. On this occasion we did not meet our normal high standards with the mix up between the from of house and the kitchen team. We have had a lot of positive comments about the food and menu but appreciate not to everyone's taste. What vegetarian / vegan dish would you like to see on the menu, please do let us know as we want to really develop this side of the menu. If you had let the staff know on the night we would have happily sorted it out for you. It always makes me sad on the rare occasion a guest leave with a disappointing experience. We hope you will come bac and see what we have done with the menu, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Fleece Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Crook, Kendal
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Ye Olde Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing