We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you haven't booked in advance”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Strickland Arms

Strickland Arms
Ranked #12 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Avoid if you haven't booked in advance”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We first visited this pub on a weekday in April and were impressed by the service and the quality of the food. However we made the mistake of returning on a Sunday lunchtime. They made great play of being able to fit is in even though we hadn't booked and showed us to a table in a large, virtually empty and soulless room upstairs. Drinks were served quickly but they were in no rush to take our food order (or that of the only 2 other people in the room), 2 more couples arrived and had trouble even getting menus (they had run out!). After sitting around about 15 minutes and hearing from the couples who arrived after us that they had been told it would take 45 minutes for the food to be served, we paid for the drinks and left.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakeland130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    191
    82
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Left with a takeaway after 50 minute wait!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

A colleague and I went on a rare lunch together so thought we'd go where work (FMB) has taken us many times and is near the office therefore making the most our our lunch hour.
On arrival the bar was busy and we ordered half portions of the main courses as we know they are quite large normally and we know they do allow this. We paid for meals and drinks (£16) and sat outside with spoon no. 63. 45 minutes later and seeing people eating who'd ordered after us, I approached the bar which was unmanned and I waited a further 5 minutes before seeing ANY member of staff. The staff member said they'd just had to do a 10 meal serving upstairs and that ours was next.
At no point at ordering were we given an ETA for our food nor warned of an excessive waiting time. I sat back at our table and a friendly female staff member noticed we were without food and offered to chase it up for us. Knowing our lunch hour was nearly up we decided to cancel the order and instead see if we could take a sandwich out. Although we got a full refund (inc drinks) and apologies it has dented my opinon of the eatery which up until today was one of my preferred establishments. We were both looking forward to a warm cooked lunch and left with cold sandwich and crisps the fact they were on the house made them taste slightly better than they were, as you could tell they were thrown together in a rush into a soggy baguette.

The nice lady who processed the refund even shouted 'come back'.................it will be sometime until I step foot in the Strickland Arms again.

On returning to the office the fiance of my colleague said he had tried to phone several times to pay for our meal but on four occasions the phone was picked up and put down without any word spoken so he'd given up!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LouiseFMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JConwayManager, Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear LouiseFMB,

Please accept my apologies for your less than satisfactory visit to the Strickland Arms. It appears that an error in communication lead to your order being missed and I am naturally concerned that you had to wait so long and leave dissatisfied. It is unfortunate and regrettable that these things can happen on occasion. I want every single customer to experience the same great food and service and so I would welcome the chance to restore your faith in the Strick by welcoming you back personally at some time in the near future.

Apologies once more and kind regards,

James Conway
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

What a find this was, not lived in the area long, and found it after a disappointing visit to Low Sizergh Farm. Had great welcome as if we were regulars, good service and with a smile too. Excellent food, mussels the best ever. Coffee and walnut cheescake out of this world. Everyone else eating had a smile too.

So pleasant to go somewhere and be treated like a valued customer.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldiesarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ten minutes in the pub and I lived every second of it!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I just popped in for a quick pint and a visit to the ladies' but the young staff was very welcoming and sweet :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and lovely pub”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We visited the pub on a sunday evening and although it was extremely busy and they were short on staff we had a delicious meal, service was great and very friendly and it was probably our favourite meal/pub to visit from a week eating and drinking in the Lake District.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMcC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strickland Arms also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Levens, Lake District
 

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing