We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay but a few niggling points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good stay but a few niggling points”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here in early December whilst working in the area.

I arrived shortly early afternoon so parking was not an issue. The website does say that parking is limited and chargeable (£5 per 24 hours), however the extent of limited is then spelt out on an email that is sent after booking. Clearly this has caused issues in the past hence the email.

I had a room in the first floor next to the lift and housekeeping stores - why when the hotel was not full that room allocated to anyone is beyond. Whilst I wasn't disturbed during the night the bing bong if the lift could be heard late into the evening and again in the morning along with the housekeeping staff. These rooms really should be the last to be allocated.

The room itself was clean and well maintained and was comfortable. I had some food in the evening it was fresh and tasty whilst breakfast in the morning was also very nice.

Overall the visit was enjoyable and the staff were friendly, I would consider returning if in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    390
    130
    39
    25
See reviews for
366
458
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights here whilst attending the Mountain Festival in November. After years of staying in pub accommodation in the town we thought we'd treat ourselves this time, for very little extra money, to a bit of comfort and en suite facilities. I was fortunate in being able to arrive early Thursday afternoon and thus got a parking space where I stayed put for the rest of the stay. Thanks to Sophie who came outside on a v cold day to show me how the ticket machine worked. All the other staff we met were equally cheerful and helpful.
Room was very clean and comfortable. As usual, when in Kendal, we had an early breakfast at the Artisan restaurant in Booth's supermarket because it was on the way up to the main KMF venue. However, we did have breakfast on Monday at the Premier Inn. Great choice of fresh fruit, cereals etc but oh the croissants...they were rock hard. This was the only downside of the stay. See you next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Same as most, I previously mentioned about only one towel supplied when 2 guests stay, but there were 2 towels here so no complaints.
No issues at all, except the £5 parking charge. Oh and the TV isn't that big, and BBC 3 wasn't working so couldn't watch Family Guy.

Room Tip: Be aware £5 parking (24 hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic, australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

has a last minute sleep over at the Kendal lodge, staff very friendly
room was good size main bed and a single plus the sofa converted. all great but the sofa bed very springy so my daughter moved beds to mine in the night as there was only 3 of us.

all clean and tidy no nasty smells. a little dark not a afan of the lighting in the bedrooms. but great in bathroom

had brekkie and great as kids ate for free and ate more than me!
only dislike is the £5 for parking every 24hours.. and its very limited in spaces. as it was winter not to bad for us but im sure in summer if you head off exploring for the day you may have problems parking at the end of your day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigbyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelmersdale
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

As always Premier Inns can never be faulted for cleanliness and helpful staff. Excellent location for exploring Kendal, central to everything. Plenty of bars, places to eat and shops. Id recommend staying in the rooms on reception side as you have the bar and restaurant right there, without having to go outside. The full premier breakfast is well worth the price of £8.25 per person as you can eat and drink as much as you like, and the choice is varied, even for the fussiest of eaters. The White Hart pub was our favourite whilst there. The parking is reasonable too, £5 for 24 hours, on the Premier site itself. Will definitely return if staying in Kendal again

Room Tip: Made a mistake on swimming pool as there wasnt one :-). We were in 218, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Am at present at this Premier Inn, checked in last night for two nights. As in previous stays at Premier Inns, Reception Staff friendly, got a phone call a few days before advising of car park etc.{no trouble parking either yesterday or today). In room 208, new part - top floor facing rear - only down side is no lift and its two floors up - not ideal if you have more than an overnight bag. Room very clean - view is of a small building site directly outside and hills in distance, no noise at all from building site, room very quiet at night. Breakfast seems to have changed, maybe they have taken on board some of the previous complaints,.. continental is serve yourself, hot breakfast is ordered from menu and cooked to order, not a long wait and it arrived piping hot, not dried out and on warmed plates, well done Premier Inn, will see if tomorrow is a repeat at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlyjetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate H, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear jetlyjetson

Many thanks for your recent review on your stay with us. we try to give all our guests a call 3 days prior to there visit just to inform them of the carparking issues and just genrally see if you have any special requirements, which we will always do our upmost to accomodate. wether that be a room close to reception or just extra tea and coffee. we do hope to see you again in the near future.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Lovely big room and was spotless.The Premier Inn was a five minute walk from the town centre. Kendal has a lovely variety of shops and restaurants.
Staff very friendly and helpful, would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate H, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear charley1

thank you for your recent review. im pleased to hear that you would return to visit us here at the Kendal Central Premier Inn. we take pride in ensuring our guests have a clean comfortable room to make there stay brilliant. we hope to see you again in the future.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,004 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing