We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There and back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A week or so ago my wife and I returned to Kendal in the Lakes. Since my last review back in April, this hotel has had an extension. Pretty much as before, excellent location, very helpful and professional staff. The room we had was improved over our last visit with the addition of a drawer for extra storage and a very comfortable chaise lounge. Other than that pretty much what you get in any of the Premier Inn hotels. One very unwelcome addition though was the parking charge at £5.00 for 24 hours. The staff did apologise for this giving the reason as "the car park doesn't belong to us and we have no control over the cost!" despite the fact that there are Premier Inn signes all over it. I am not saying the cost is unreasonable, but I fail to understand why any hotel that offers parking has to charge, surely the cost should be absorbed into the price of the room! Be aware if you are staying at this hotel that the parking on this site is restricted. There are a number of alternatives around the town but none are particulary well signposted or obvious, tending to be tucked away behind the shops of the main street so check beforehand. Also be aware that the new extension can be accessed either by lift ot stairs from main reception. or you can cross the car park and enter via a card coded door then use the stairs, there is no lift at this end of the building.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the upper floor facing to the rear of the building as this overlooks the park and...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidEviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can I start by thanking premier Inn Reception staff who were amazing. I am sure this team constantly get it in the neck for the horrific parking which I think is miss-described on the Premier inn Website.

Please note: I feel as though we wasted 2 nights staying here with the worry etc. and we could have stayed somewhere else!

We got there mid afternoon only to find the truth regarding the parking at the hotel. It is described by Premier Inn as

'There is limited parking at this hotel which is allocated on a first come, first served basis and is chargeable'

When you book you receive an email which opens you eyes a little more. But it is only when you get there you see exactly the truth about it. yes, you have to pay, but from what everything I had read, we were under the impression that once you pay the fee, then the parking is yours. It is as long as you don't move your car! So if you want to pop out for an hour, when you come back you will be lucky if you can get into the car park after 4pm. On our second day we were awoken by Sunlight (apparently) wheeling the crates of bedding and towels under our room at 7.30am. Not amused at all! We then went out and spent so much time worrying about not being able to get a car paring space, so returned back at the hotel at approx 3pm. And ended up spending yet more time in Kendal. But what was sad to see, was a poor member of staff in the carpark around 4pm handing out leaflets to people turning up, re-directing them to other parking facilities. But this isn't also as it seems, as as far as we could gather, all others have time restrictions on them)! Then that night, bar staff were dragging their rubbish across the court yard, last time being 10.30pm. This was meant to be a few relaxing days, and it turned into the most stressful time I ever spent in a Premier Inn Hotel.

I do feel sorry for the staff of the hotel. Premier Inn do say this on their website 'This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise.' But it's the bar staff that don't keep them and allowing deliveries , not the residents.

Would I visit again. No. We never ended up going to the places that we wanted to, due to parking worries! And that defeats the purpose and also wastes two days we could have stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email us with all the details of your stay at talktous@premierinn.com. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

the hotel is ideally situated in Kendal with shops and walks close by.the hotel is very clean and tidy with great staff in every department.the only niggle was having to pay for parking but this didn't detract from a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights so we could visit the Lake District. Firstly the parking is limited but we were warned of this via an email and a phone call beforehand. The room we had over looked the main road and was directly above the pub/restaurant, this concerned me at first but I shouldn't have worried. I never heard any noise from outside or inside, there are signs saying designated quiet zone between 10pm and 7am. It was the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in, no doors banging, no loud footsteps from above, no traffic noise, no noise at all. We ate in the restaurant and we had a lovely 3 course meal. All the staff we met we very friendly and helpful. We will return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank millie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in August. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. I would highly recommend the breakfast which was amazing! Only downside was having to pay for the limited parking and having to pay for wifi. Overall would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akuany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights with the kids. Staff are very friendly, nothing was a problem for them. Loved it, my plan was to go to windemere. This place was a pleasant 15 minute drive. Thanks premier inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arif_m2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A nice modern hotel which is clean and has plenty of space and is very near centre of town and facilities, however prices are only reasonable when booking quite far in advance and there is no discount on the car park, I think all hotels should either provide free car parking or discounts on car parks used

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJJLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $69 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing