We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great place for families”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Firstly this hotel does have a lack of parking. We were lucky that we were told we could park on the pavement. I suspect as we have children. We found the staff incredibly friendly and genuine who made a fuss of the children which they loved. This hotel is fantastic value for money especially as the children eat free. It is a very good base to explore the lakes.

What we like is that the premier inn provide to separate beds for our children unlike other chains who only offer a sofa bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    395
    134
    42
    26
See reviews for
371
469
40
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this premier inn a few times now and always find it excellent. Good staff and service, rooms very clean and tidy. Food and service good in restaurant. Location very good, in town centre.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ClaretsMad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great hotel really let down by its limited parking, its a nice location with friendly staff.. I do find it hard to believe that they are adding more rooms to this venue particularly as there is insufficient parking already - and seriously getting up at 8am in the morning to move your car from the council offices - this is a bit of a joke.

All in all a great venue if you travel by Bus, Train or pixy dust.. just don't try a car !

Room Tip: Try not to be on the first floor either above the pub or service entrance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeeUK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in the Kendal PremierInn as a base for the Lakes. After booking online, we got an email about the limited parking on site and also a week before our arrival, we received a courtesy call from the hotel to reiterate the information. I thought this showed very good customer services, which is something we are used to from PremierInn. On arrival, thankfully there was one spot left and my husband was able to claim it - the parking situation was pretty ridiculous as there seemed to be some construction work going around and cars were parked haphazardly. The location of the hotel itself is great as it is very central, but the parking situation is a bit of a nightmare. Not sure how the restaurant/ pub next door copes as I can't imagine many diners being impressed with the lack of parking?! Check-in was painless and the receptionist was helpful in explaining re parking - when it's free, etc. The room was a standard room with toiletries, towels and hairdryer provided. There was also free tea and coffee though a shame no decaf (which Travelodge does provide!!). Loving the curved shower rail so the shower curtain doesn't cling to you in the shower - great shower with just the right spray and temperature! Besides the parking situation, another flaw is the soap dispenser at the sink which didn't work very well, so we had to press it quite a few times for it to work. It would also be great if there were towel rails in the toilets - as there is only one hook at the back of the door and nowhere to put hand towels. The bath is quite high, so for someone with short legs like me, I had to take extra care when getting in and out of the bath. We had a good night's sleep at the hotel and will not hesitate to stay in another PremierInn in future. We didn't have breakfast booked through the hotel as it's pretty pricey (more than £8) and you can easily get cheaper breakfasts elsewhere. I think it's commendable that customer services seem to be a key in the chain and I applaud the efforts taken by staff to make sure guests feel welcome and comfortable. Well done, PremierInn!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was booked this hotel by our head office, to stay over while covering the store in Kendal. I found it very comfortable, clean and the food was good and plenty of it. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Staff were very helpful and had very good knowledge of the area. I am happy to be going back again this week. The breakfast is very good but just couldnt manage to eat too much then go to work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steele1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked to stay here for the night as I received the Premier Inn email having stayed in their hotels before. We were planning to stay somewhere near Lake Windermere before travelling onto York for a few days. For the date we wanted the room was only £29 which was amazing and booked it immediately. Although the rooms in Premier Inns are standard throughout, it is great knowing what to expect and that the standards are very high. We arrived a couple of hours early but our room wasn't yet ready so we headed off out to do some exploring. When we returned the room was ready and check in was efficiently done and we were advised of the offer for dinner and breakfast which we opted for after reading the details. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was good. Even hair/body wash in the shower. Great when only staying a short time. I have stayed in Premier Inns before and know how comfortable the beds are. I think my husband was a bit sceptical but was extremely pleased to find out I wasn't "bending" the truth. We both slept soundly and would have loved to take the mattress home. Our breakfast in the morning was delicious (as was our meal the evening before - even though just usual pub menu food) The location was great for us and would definitely recommend to others

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road which did seem to be a bit busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclarke120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Kendal premier inn for one night in March 2013 on our way to Grasmere for a few days. We were very lucky on arrival to get a car parking space as they are very limited (to be fair a member of staff had rung me a few days before to advise me about the parking and they would help show us where we could park). On arrival we were met by Sophie, and excellent member of staff who was very cheerful and helpful. Hotel is in easy walking distance of a number of places to eat and drink (we ate at the 'Deja-Vu' next door - very good!) Room was great with loads of room and no noise outside. A great hotel to stay and will be back again.

Room Tip: Room 4 on the ground floor was very good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing