We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a family wedding in the area and decided to give the Premier Inn a go, we were so happy we did. The service was excellent, from the text before we set off to ensure we had directions, to having the room ready early at our request so we could get changed and ready for the church, all showed signs of a competent and customer centric ethos.

I had read many posts about the dire parking situation at present, partly it seems due to building work close by, however on both occasions (Friday lunchtime & Saturday morning) when I needed to park I was able to do so.

We had a family room for my two children, wife and I and it was comfortable and clean and other than my 9 month old waking us with her cries (oh the joy) we had a good nights sleep.

We paid for the full breakfast and again we were impressed. Choice is good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, in fact they were really attentive. Cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts etc were self service, hot foods were taken on order, tea and coffee was self service.

So would we stay in a Premier Inn again as a family, too right...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashandyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    374
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
339
449
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lucky enough to book a very cheap offer for this hotel and have vouchers for the restaurant adjoined, and we weren't disappointed. I can see that the car park may be an issue, but we were extremely fortunate to drive straight in to a prime spot which was free of charge to residents at weekend. The young lady on reception gave us an excellent, friendly welcome, lots of info about the local area. Room was excellent, but I found the lighting quite difficult- I know they were energy saving lights, but it makes a lovely fresh room seem quite dull. We put them all on and it was still quite dark. The location is perfect for the centre of Kendal, but we went to the restaurant on site which is normal pub type fare, fine but very restricted choice for me as vegetarian. Overall, we had a great overnight stay,excellent value, good service and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

All-in-all, this is of the usual high standard I have grown to expect from premier inn: spotless rooms, friendly staff, nothing is too mucb trouble. The issue is...parking!! The car park at the time of my stay is pay and display (think i read £1.80 per hour), and consists of approx 15-20 spaces for both the hotel and restaurant guests - use of a nearby town hall car park is free as long as it is vacated before 8.30am. Its a 4-5 minute walk which doesn't bother a youngish bloke like me, but I would worry slightly for old folks and lone female guests having to walk to the hotel in the dark...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidsnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had stayed previously and not had a problem. I arrived at 6:30pm on Monday 4th Feb. nowhere to park. It is a small car park, but there were a number of spaces out of use because of building works. Had to park away from hotel. Got very wet walking back. Check in just ok. Dinner ok. Back to room. Poor lighting in the room (think there may have been a light out as well). Paid for Internet and couldn't get it to work.Grrrr! Woke up at around 2am because the lavatory was on continuous flush. Had to get up to move my car at 6:30am! Had continental breakfast - pricey for a couple of bits of toast and a brew! Over the last few months my stays in Premier Inns around the country has disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We decided to stay at Kendal on our way to the Lakes to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we had qualified for a free night so we booked Kendal. The hotel is in a great position and quite new. The reception staff were great and the room good apart from the bedside lights did not work and the other lights made the room dark but it was very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good and the staff great. The problem was breakfast, when we got down we were shown to a table and before we had chance to sit down asked what we wanted as "they were very busy and there may be a delay", when it came, which was quite quick, it was not very hot and looked as though it had been hanging around on the pass. We stay at Premier Inns quite regularly and look forward to their usually excellent breakfasts but not this time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfowler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this Premier Inn via the website as we needed an additional night on top of our original short stay booking elsewhere. Having stayed with PI many times before we know what to expect but getting a room for £39 was ideal. This turned out to be real value for money as there was little we could do to fault our stay.
The only draw back with this particular location is the limited parking on site which was further restricted by the extension works currently ongoing. That said, the team at PI Kendal could have done no more to help us out. We received an email advising us of the limitations and detailing alternatives as well as an attempt to contact us by phone. On arrival the car park was full as expected so we simply pulled up to unload. On checking in the staff were ready with a map of alternative parking and tips on where best to go. We managed to park roadside just outide and was good until 9am the next day which worked fine for us (had to laugh when we had been cordened off by the workmen!). However, most alternatives are a short walk away.
We could not fault the staff, both on the reception and in the neighbouring Table Table restaurant. All were friendly, polite and extremely healpful.
The room was a typical PI layout and with all of the normal equipment etc. Plenty of space and all was clean, in good condition and in working order. The room was quieter than some I have stayed in and this is despite our room being located at the front onto the main road. Some pretty impressive double galzing did the trick. Fortunately the air conditioning was also in full working order so we had a very sound sleep. The bed was comfortable and plenty of good quality pillows available.
We had a drink and snack in the adjoining bar; can't speak in terms of the full dining experience but we were more than happy with our Nachos & Chips snack. Quickly served, warm & tasty.
Finally the location. This PI is easy to find being just off the main route through the town. It is situated at the end of the main shopping centre and you are within a short walk of all of the key amenities.
All in all, not much we can say that is negative. If having your car parked right out side the door is a must then maybe this is not the PI for you. Otherwise this is the perfect place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pread26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed her as part of the free night giveaway. Staff were very helpful, including phoning the week before to discuss parking arrangements.

Room was clean and bed very comfy, reception really helpful.

Didn't eat Breakfast went to Booths which was much more expensive than the Premier Inn and didn't have dinner as we ate out but Pub looked nice.

The hotel is undergoing an extension but it didn't interfere with our stay. I've given it 4 as the parking is an issue no matter how much they try to warn you in advance, if they sort that out it would be a 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
22.8 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing