We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed her as part of the free night giveaway. Staff were very helpful, including phoning the week before to discuss parking arrangements.

Room was clean and bed very comfy, reception really helpful.

Didn't eat Breakfast went to Booths which was much more expensive than the Premier Inn and didn't have dinner as we ate out but Pub looked nice.

The hotel is undergoing an extension but it didn't interfere with our stay. I've given it 4 as the parking is an issue no matter how much they try to warn you in advance, if they sort that out it would be a 5.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I had a 3 night stay from the 8th Feb,The reception staff were extreamly friendly and helpful, we bought a voucher for the evening meal and breakfast on our first night, we were very dissapointed in the seperate menu we were given, the food was of a very poor quality and small portions, the breakfast the next day was very dissapointing, undercooked sausage and bacon, bland beans, scrambled egg was watery as was the mushrooms, My advice, give the meals a miss, there are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance which offers good food at same price as the hotel. The hotel itself was exceptionaly clean and the room was very well laid out, our overall view, the hotel side was as near perfect as you would expect but avoid the food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The staff here are fantastic, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Parking an issue, but staff very good at helping you find alternatives. The attached pub is good and very popular.
Rooms as you would expect, we asked for a quiet room and got it. We got a room for £29 for a Saturday night which was a bargain for a family room, with beds made up for the children. I'm a fan of good value premier inn hotels and this is one of the best we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There's a lot to like about the Premier Inn in Kendal. The central location is great and you can walk straight into the town's shopping centre and restaurants, just 5mins away. It's also a brilliant overnight stop for the Southern Lakes - you know what you're getting with Premier Inn and, in our case, we got it for just £29 per room.

The actual site is tight for space - the designers have squeezed the Premier Inn onto a small plot. The car park is too small for everyone but, to be fair, they tell you this on the website and the staff telephoned me a couple of days before arrival to explain it again and offer alternative parking. At the weekend their suggestions were close by and free, so we unloaded our stuff and parked the car nearby. It does feel a tiny bit claustrophobic though, but that's the deal with a central location I guess, so we're cool with that.

The staff were professional, did the usual Premier Inn welcome thing etc. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. But this is a more recent Premier Inn and so has been built to a tighter budget than some of the older ones. Very energy efficient lighting takes a little while to warm up, no standard lamp, LED reading lamps instead of bedside lamps, no couch but just a single chair and very small flat screen tv. It's a bit austere and Premier Inn need to just be careful they don't slip over the fine line of becoming like Travel Lodge. They're getting close to the line but haven't crossed it yet. Back to the positives, at £29 per room, the shower had superb pressure and flow making for a great wake up in the morning!

We booked two rooms for our family which, oddly, were miles apart on different floors - weird and shame as you want the kids close by.

The breakfast was a mixed bag. The layout of the breakfast area was good with no mad scrum. Everything was well stocked so the continental choice is the one to choose. We all chose the cooked option as there were no hot plates and we thought everything would be freshly cooked to order (well, almost everything). But the food, when it came was just warm and the sausages looked undercooked & pink. We explained this to the staff who noted it but didn't go the extra mile to do much more (like apologise). It's a shame because otherwise they all did a good job in a busy breakfast restaurant.

Would I stay again? Yes, this Premier Inn is a decent package offered at a superb price in a great location for South Lakes. I would avoid the cooked breakfasts which, on balance, more often are a disappointment than a success at Premier Inns. I really must learn and pay the smaller charge for the continental which, almost always is lovely.

Room Tip: At Premier Inn I don't think you can choose. However, I would suggest that the top floor (secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arianne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

after reading previous reviews I paid £80 for double room for one night. Yes it was very clean, showers excellent could have put more teabags and sugar in rooms though. It is very central, parking is a bit of a lottery though, staff in hotel very good.Got woke up at 4am with the noise of drunks outside though put me off.Ate in the Table Table restaurant, staff very friendly food- well I've eaten better. Breakfast was okay. All in all £80 not really worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed on a sunday night in feb,no parking spaces when we arrived,but we had expected that after reading reviews,young lady on reception very helpful information for alternative parking which was all very close.After returning after a drive to windermere(which is only 7miles away),we were lucky enough to get a space in the hotel carpark.The hotel is easy to find,the staff were extremely helpful and friendly,rooms were very clean and the showers are brilliant,there is a some construction work going on next door,but this was no bother as the rooms are very quiet.There is a Table Table restaurant on site,we only had a coffee there.All in all a great premier inn and for only £19 a bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetteH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was in Kendal for one night and looking for somewhere central. The premier inn is 5 mins walk from the centre of Kendal and was perfect. Very clean rooms. I booked a twin and we had a single and double and the whole place was spotless. Very impressed. Only paid £39 for the room and wouldn't have been unhappy paying double for location and cleanliness. Parking can be an issue as not many spaces but the staff went out of their way to advise on this before arrival and in actual fact was fine on the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
703 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing