We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory rooms but disappointing cooked breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Satisfactory rooms but disappointing cooked breakfast”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There's a lot to like about the Premier Inn in Kendal. The central location is great and you can walk straight into the town's shopping centre and restaurants, just 5mins away. It's also a brilliant overnight stop for the Southern Lakes - you know what you're getting with Premier Inn and, in our case, we got it for just £29 per room.

The actual site is tight for space - the designers have squeezed the Premier Inn onto a small plot. The car park is too small for everyone but, to be fair, they tell you this on the website and the staff telephoned me a couple of days before arrival to explain it again and offer alternative parking. At the weekend their suggestions were close by and free, so we unloaded our stuff and parked the car nearby. It does feel a tiny bit claustrophobic though, but that's the deal with a central location I guess, so we're cool with that.

The staff were professional, did the usual Premier Inn welcome thing etc. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. But this is a more recent Premier Inn and so has been built to a tighter budget than some of the older ones. Very energy efficient lighting takes a little while to warm up, no standard lamp, LED reading lamps instead of bedside lamps, no couch but just a single chair and very small flat screen tv. It's a bit austere and Premier Inn need to just be careful they don't slip over the fine line of becoming like Travel Lodge. They're getting close to the line but haven't crossed it yet. Back to the positives, at £29 per room, the shower had superb pressure and flow making for a great wake up in the morning!

We booked two rooms for our family which, oddly, were miles apart on different floors - weird and shame as you want the kids close by.

The breakfast was a mixed bag. The layout of the breakfast area was good with no mad scrum. Everything was well stocked so the continental choice is the one to choose. We all chose the cooked option as there were no hot plates and we thought everything would be freshly cooked to order (well, almost everything). But the food, when it came was just warm and the sausages looked undercooked & pink. We explained this to the staff who noted it but didn't go the extra mile to do much more (like apologise). It's a shame because otherwise they all did a good job in a busy breakfast restaurant.

Would I stay again? Yes, this Premier Inn is a decent package offered at a superb price in a great location for South Lakes. I would avoid the cooked breakfasts which, on balance, more often are a disappointment than a success at Premier Inns. I really must learn and pay the smaller charge for the continental which, almost always is lovely.

Room Tip: At Premier Inn I don't think you can choose. However, I would suggest that the top floor (secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    397
    135
    42
    27
See reviews for
374
470
40
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

after reading previous reviews I paid £80 for double room for one night. Yes it was very clean, showers excellent could have put more teabags and sugar in rooms though. It is very central, parking is a bit of a lottery though, staff in hotel very good.Got woke up at 4am with the noise of drunks outside though put me off.Ate in the Table Table restaurant, staff very friendly food- well I've eaten better. Breakfast was okay. All in all £80 not really worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed on a sunday night in feb,no parking spaces when we arrived,but we had expected that after reading reviews,young lady on reception very helpful information for alternative parking which was all very close.After returning after a drive to windermere(which is only 7miles away),we were lucky enough to get a space in the hotel carpark.The hotel is easy to find,the staff were extremely helpful and friendly,rooms were very clean and the showers are brilliant,there is a some construction work going on next door,but this was no bother as the rooms are very quiet.There is a Table Table restaurant on site,we only had a coffee there.All in all a great premier inn and for only £19 a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was in Kendal for one night and looking for somewhere central. The premier inn is 5 mins walk from the centre of Kendal and was perfect. Very clean rooms. I booked a twin and we had a single and double and the whole place was spotless. Very impressed. Only paid £39 for the room and wouldn't have been unhappy paying double for location and cleanliness. Parking can be an issue as not many spaces but the staff went out of their way to advise on this before arrival and in actual fact was fine on the day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BordersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed just one night with friends and found the hotel comfortable, the staff were helpful and very friendly and would definitely return. Only 10 minutes to Windermere and the parking was free at weekends. They have a small car park and also facilities with the local council. We had dinner in the restaurant as the weather was awful (rain after the snow) service was good and the food also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed overnight on 28th January. We parked very easily in the hotel's carpark but it was a Sunday night in January which might have been the reason. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable with choice of pillows. I love a really dark room and when we drew the curtains it made a wonderful change to actually have curtains that let no light in. The breakfast was far too large and offered you to eat as much as you liked for £8.25, good value but I would have preferred to have been able to buy individual items, so we didn't have breakfast there. But apart from that, I would definately recommend it and go again.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 2/3rd Jan for the bargain price of £38.00 in the online sale. First things first, they have no private free parking, although this wasn't an issue with us. We just parked in the car park (pay and display) for a couple of hours and it is free after 6pm, so you can leave your car overnight there for no charge. Be aware that there are not many spaces, as the bar/restaurant attached also uses the car park. So when you get back after a day out, your space will most likely be taken. All in all we spent about £8.00 in parking fees over the 2 days, which considering you are right in the centre of town is a small price to pay.
The hotel is spotless, very friendly staff, particularly on Reception, always a cheery hello. Room was adequately sized and bed very comfortable. Tea bags/coffee was replenished on our second morning and t.v worked a treat. We stayed in Room 101(ominous number ;-p) and I think it was equipped for any disabled guests as the bathroom was fitted with handrails and a shower seat and emergency cords (also by the bed) which made the bathroom feel a little bit clinical and hospital like for us. (Although top marks for equipment if you are needing a disabled friendly room) We ate the Premier breakfast on our second morning for £8.95 each. It was a feast, loads of choice of cereals, toast, muffins, juice etc. Then a hearty full English and as much tea or coffee as needed. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillyjilly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing