We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb location, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently spent a few nights in the Kendal Premier Inn to visit friends and do a bit of touring of the Lake District (and Christmas shopping). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the location is superb - right in the centre of Kendal. Only issue is the parking as it's very limited, but we parked near the Police station overnight and moved the car around several locations whilst staying there. The breakfast in the adjacent Wakefield Arms is very good. We noted that an extension to the hotel is currently being built - we hope that more parking is being provided too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandLManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    377
    126
    40
    22
See reviews for
352
454
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

As stated previously the parking is a nightmare, if you do manage to get parked you will be asked to move your car if a member of staff needs to park up. Add 10 pound a night to your stay to allow for parking away from the hotel. I stayed for 2 weeks with work, and the food was bearable, but very bland. Me and 2 colleagues had booked rooms and meals for the duration, but during busy periods we were told that there was no table available, and to try the chip shop 10 minutes away, rooms were very clean and comfortable, but if you come to Kendal by car, avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Although we unfortunately do not have any control over the charges for car parking, we do notify you of parking charges on the Premier Inn website; you can contact the hotel to find out the specific charges.

Thank you once again for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

A great location, but not a lot of parking spaces. Wakefield arms next door great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Pleasant and helpful staff, nothing a problem. Room was a good size with everything you will need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great Premier Inn in Kendal
We were lucky to park outside, we had to pay £3 to take us up to 18:00 then it was free for the remainder of the weekend
The Wakefield Arms next door is excellent, good breakfast
The Premier Inn is very close to the Brewery Arts Centre
Nice and quiet at night, helpful staff and for £39 a bargain

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steeples12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

£19 sale rooms at this hotel are a rarity, but I got 2 consecutive nights in December and loved it. Not much in the way of hotel choice in the centre of Kendal and they all have limited parking. Wouldn't wish to risk any of the other establishments I saw and clearly Premier Inn has been a big hit with travellers given that an extension is under construction. Don't worry if you get a room next to the main street, you won't hear a thing in terms of traffic noise. Outstanding triple glazing saw to that. I rarely holiday by car so I wasn't bothered either way about car parking. The bus station is an easy 5 minute walk away and the railway station a bit further on. Superb range of Lake District/Lancashire destinations can be reached from Kendal by way of frequent bus network with good value rover fares. Only point worth noting is the lack of any meaningful service after 6pm or on Sundays during the winter off season months. I can understand some people will mourn the lack of a self service breakfast, but other Premier Inns only offer that facility at busy times, so I'm used to having to order my breakfast with a waitress. The upside is the food arrives freshly cooked and piping hot and you do get to say how many of each item you want. Reception and restuarant staff incredibly pleasant and genuinely so, something I found everywhere I went in the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in a central location. Only complaint would be we were refused coffee afterv10pm because machines had been cleaned. There were adverts all over the restaurant for Costa coffee and Irish coffee, which was what we wanted but were unable to get it. Suspect the bar staff had cleaned the machine too early. Not good enough! Don't advertise what you
can't provide!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is great value for money and is in an excellent location. If you can't get a car parking space outside of the hotel there are plenty spaces in the surrounding area. The hotel staff are really lovely. All in all a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
22.9 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing