We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting the lakes and want the very best of budget hotels? Here it is.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visiting the lakes and want the very best of budget hotels? Here it is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was the organiser of a group booking and was pleased to see every one of them pleased with the friendly accommodating staff who always tried their very best to make our stay first class. One couple even got lost in the town centre rang for directions and the young lady in reception talked them through the traffic until they arrived in the car park.... how's that!
We had 15 people for dinner and were treat very specially even though it was complicated with some having the "Meal Deal" and some from the main menu, no mistakes from the staff but one of us thought the meal deal was an option during the dinner. Went to the receptionist who took off her breakfast payment and gave her the "Meal Deal" in retrospect. One lady a vegetarian did not like veggie burgers and was allowed to swop a veggie option from the main menu.
On Saturday some of us "Over 60's" hopped on a bus and used our bus passes and sat upstairs, from there we watched the beautiful sunny day spread all over the scenery as we travelled to Keswick and wished we could have jumped off in Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside all begging for a visit. Still we will return to "Kendal" to the Premier Inn again as soon as possible.
The parking is a bit of a problem however they are building a bigger Car Park behind that will solve all of that, however on our visits we have always been able to park.

Room Tip: There are only 2 floors the lift is always there quickly. Choose the "Meal Deal" a reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    375
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
339
451
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place to stay - can't fault it at all - just found it really hard to actually find - as the Kendal one way system was tough to navigate; so if in doubt and when you have gone over the Kent river (again) then call the front desk as they are really helpful to navigate you back in to the top of town via various landmarks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from a two night stay, family had an excellent time. Particular note of thanks to the reception team who made the whole experience so enjoyable and fun. The effort they went to for Halloween with decorations and fun things to do was exceptional and our son had just the best time. Thank you Sophie and the rest of the team. Great finish to his half-term holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffCheshire334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent location right in the middle of town. One consequence of this is that parking is an issue, but it's not like they don't make you aware of this beforehand. As it happens was not too busy when we arrived and we got a space right outside.

Usual standards of excellence on a budget that Premier Inn seem to always deliver and the staff as always friendly, well drilled and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0rnc0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Reception staff were amazingly helpful, helped us with luggage, helped us with directions, had excellent local knowledge, friendly open good to talk to.Rooms were spotless and of course beds were comfy and had really good nights sleep. Food was good and breakfast wasplentiful and waitress checked to see if we wanted anything else cooked when our breakfast had been eaten, good choice of fruit and ordinary teas etc manymuch pricier hotels could learn a thing or two from this supposedly budget hotel group. Staff seemed to enjoy working and proud to work for the organisation. I was sent a text offering sat nav directions to be sent foc to mymobile, my twin room booking was confirmed, faultless service really good within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: I would expect every room to be of the same good standard or the money back guarentee would be invok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgePudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October, excellent value, clean, comfortable, efficient check in and service, everything you expect from a Premier Inn really.Our only criticism is the breakfast, it is served at the restaurant next door and they are not really geared up for breakfast it is more of a evening restaurant where everything can be griddled or heated up ( no cooking skills necessary), one morning the bacon was nearly raw and the sausages only cooked on one side and when I sent it back for a bit more cooking, it came back covered in black charcoal, like it had been on the steak grill and was completely inedible, however on the other 2 mornings it was fine and there is a good selection of cereals, toast, crumpets etc. ( you help yourself to these, so you won't starve.) We can recommend the Blue Tiffin an Indian restaurant for an evening meal the food was quite exceptional and the waiter was open to haggling the price of the wine down which is always good! For a day trip we went to Muncaster Castle which has a brilliant owl sanctuary and beautiful gardens and walks through the grounds, we also went to the aquarium and took the yellow cruise boat to Bowness on Windermere for £10 return which was very enjoyable and it is cheap to leave your car in the Lakeside car park, if you book your tickets online for both Muncaster Castle and The Aquarium it is much cheaper. Overall we had a brilliant time in the Lakes.

Room Tip: This is a Premier Inn all of the rooms will be to the same high standard and the hotel is nice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxineandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is great for train travellers as it is only a 10 minute walk from the small station. It was a convenient location for visiting Kendal and the Lake District. Nice hike to Kendal Castle. Within easy walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants. We also enjoyed the Wakefield Arms restaurant attached to the hotel for breakfast and dinner. All staff were friendly and accomodating. Rooms are a good size and even though we were above the entrance to the hotel it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiangal294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
22.8 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing