We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless in its class.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Faultless in its class.”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a review of a budget hotel attached to a pub, so please keep it in perspective!
I have stayed here 3 years running since it opened, and having stayed in many other hotels in Kendal this is still the one I would choose to return to. Firstly if you have never stayed with Premier Inn before, the online booking with email and text reminders is very good. This conveniently positioned hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy, the rooms are basic, but contain everything necessary for a short stay (comfortable bed, tea/coffee, bath/shower, hairdryer etc.)
The hotel is attached to the Wakefield Arms which is a Table Table franchise pub and serves decent pub grub from a classic pub menu. This is also where you will be served a very reasonable breakfast (cooked or continental).
The hotel staff in my experience have always been extremely helpful, the pub service can be a little less predictable, especially during busy times.
Parking is limited so arrive early to bag a space, although alternate paking is nearby (and dont forget feed the pay and display by 8am the next morning).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. It is fantastic to hear that you have been staying with us since we first opened at that you still would choose us above the other hotels nearby. Your loyalty means a lot to us. Thank you once again & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    390
    130
    40
    25
See reviews for
366
458
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
672 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 879 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Myself and a friend stayed in room 207 (twin) for one night. 

Pros:
Friendly, helpful staff. 
Clean and modern premises. 
Stairs and lift to all floors. 
Sensibly laid out twin room (1 double & 1 single bed), tea & coffee making facilities, Samsung flatscreen Freeview TV (incl BBC1/2, ITV, C4, 5, Film4, ITV4, BBC NEWS), coat hangers, storage area, table & chair with lamp, walk-in shower/bath. Thermostat to control room temperature. 
All 5 bars, but weak 3G (O2) reception.
Pub (Wakefield Arms) attached with restaurant. (NB. Tables were all booked during our stay, so we went to the 'Pizza Express' 5 mins walk up the road). 
Located in the centre of town just off the end of the main shopping street.

Cons:
Additional charges for:
- WiFi
- Premier Breakfast (£7.99), Continental Breakfast (£5.25), Grab & Go (£2.95). Breakfast times: Mon-Fri 7-10:30, Sat & Sun 8-10:30. 
Limited parking on-site, but some nearby on-street parking.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback on your stay with us. We really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to give us such a detailed review & the photos you have added are fantastic! Thank you once again & hopefully we will welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We were three couples from Somerset, en-route to the Scottish Isles for a week's holiday. Unfortunately weather and traffic were awful before arriving which didn't set us up well. Car park was full but overspill was not too far away. Receptionist very helpful. Restaurant was busy and food generally OK, but the starter was cold and when my wife asked for it to be re-heated the waiter (who was very nice and tried really hard) was not supported by the chef who refused to re-heat or supply a replacement. My wife was not too bothered and awaited the main course. Mine was quite good (fish and chips) but hers was again not brilliant and she left most of it. She decided against a dessert (not wanting to go for the hat trick of disappointment) but asked for a whisky with her coffee. Coffee came but had to wait ages for the whisky.

Room was typical Premier Inn (I stay at lots on business) and was fine, clean and comfortable - but once again my wife struggled to find enough light to apply make-up - a typical problem in all hotels, irrespective of price. Surely some other women have the same problem?

Breakfast was fair, sausages a bit bland and the egg was runny although we asked for the yolk to be firm. I think it was an "off day" because most Premier Inns I stay at are reasonably good, although the breakfast sausages are rarely much "to write home about".

Overall the stay was acceptable and quite good value but definitely not memorable.

Room Tip: Didn't stay long enough to assess a "good room" but ours was a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the quality of the food received. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by our Customer Services Team and the Management team at the hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Excellent little hotel tucked away in a corner of Kendal. Reception staff brilliant, rooms clean, location great, right in the centre of town. Even managed to get a parking space outside the door!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. Your comments have been passed onto both the reception & housekeeping teams who are delighted to know that they contributed towards making your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you obce again & hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

After a long day four of us checked in and were in our rooms within minutes. The rooms were nice the bed comfy as Lenny said. We had a drink in the bar which had a very friendly atmosphere and pleasant bar staff. Breakfast was very good poached eggs perfect and good quality sausages. The most impressive thing was I had packed up in a hurry and left my kindle e-reader and glasses (no wife to check for me!) so I phoned up in the evening and thanks to Wendy I was informed they were safe and could I phone back at 11am. I phoned back spoke to Samantha who was very helpful and posted my belongings that afternoon and I received them the next day. Big thanks to the housekeeper, Wendy and Samantha

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickandShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback & your comments have been passed on to all the team involved.

Also, I would just like to add that it was not trouble at all returning your kindle & glasses to you & you are very welcome!

Hopefully we will see you agin very soon.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The title speaks for its self.
Clean, friendly staff, good food at 'Table Table' Restaurant.
Can't say more

Room Tip: Only been once but will go again
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great comments. It is always very rewarding to receive such positive feedback from our guests. Thank you once again & hopefully we will welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here in august 2011. Purpose of trip was to visit the lakes for a couple of days. It was perfect for us as I didn't want to spend to much money as it wasn't our main holiday, so if you don't mind travelling the 20mins to Windermere and then beyond its good. It was our first trip to the lakes which were beautiful. The pub attached to the Premier Inn was a Table Table, which if you've been in one before then this one is exactly the same. I found the service very slow, food quality was pretty awful, you always know how poor its going to be when the food arrives 30 seconds after you ordered it. Went to pizza express in the high street the following night and I'd recommend you do the same. Overall Good location if you want cheap accommation in an otherwise expensive area, if you don't mind the travelling into the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Leader_Sam, Manager at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us in Summer. We are very glad that you enjoyed your first visit to the Lakes & hopefully it will be the first of many!

I am sorry to hear though that your experience in the restaurant wasn't as good as it should have been. At Premier Inn we always strive to exceed our customer's expectations & I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to achieve this.

Thank you once again for your comments. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 13 in Kendal
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
666 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing