We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
$85
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Kendal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveler rating
609
469
171
55
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
469
171
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parktable tablemeal dealparking is limitedpay and displaycouncil officespolice stationattached restaurantparking situationtown centreper dayparking spacecentral locationreception staffhigh streetadjoining pubgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,292 - 1,297 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We live out side kendal but we had a wedding in Kendal and decided to stay at the Premier inn so we were in town and werent rushed on the morning of the wedding.. We arrived mid afternoon on Friday 3rd June 11 we found a parking place but we know that ther arn't many. Checking in was quick and helpful we also booked a table in the restaurant and met other family members. We had a great mael in good helpful and friendly surroundings. breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We thourouly enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying here to anyone..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parsons441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Another very good Premier Inn. staff very friendly and helpfull. We went hill walking and this is a great base to stay at. We had an evening meal and breakfast, the choice and quality of the food was really good with somthing for everyone.
Only downside was the price, I know you can get rooms for £29 but you have to book monthd in advance. The last three Premier Inns I have styaed in have been an average of £85 per night not including breakfast. There are other hotels for that price that are a better standard and Premier Inn would do well to acknowledge this. The concept of a clean, cheap hotel in Town centres is good but they must take a hard look at what they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobDagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Kendal is a good base for those visiting the lake district by car. It isn't the prettiest town but it is only a few miles from the likes of Windermere etc. Premier Inn, Kendal delivers pretty much what you would expect from the chain of hotels. Staff, accommodation and food all score well. Parking does not. You can be lucky and 'score' one of the designated 10 or so paid-for spaces or you can take your chances on-street. The alternative is an arrangement which the Inn have to use office parking space nearby out of office hours. Just be sure to move your car before 9am!

Room Tip: We stayed for 3 nights using Kendal as base to travel around Lakes.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

It was a perfect location for the centre of Kendal and this was great as we wanted to be close the shops in the High Street.
We only had 3 small criticisms to make, mainly because we were traveling with my elderly mother and we found that her room was at the far end of the corridor from ours and that she had 3 steps to go down to get to her room. I had failed to mention on booking that my mother has a walking aid nor did i think that our rooms would not be next to each other. I was also surprised that there were no phones in the room and we could not contact each other or if she had fallen she could not have contacted anyone.
However we managed and we enjoyed our stay. We used the restaurant and the food was excellent.The car park was quite expensive as the hotel does not own it and there are very few spaces which they do warn you about before you go.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel will hear some noise from the restaurant below as there are seats outside below the bedroom windows.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionatravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This Premier Inn is centrally located in Kendal, adjacent to the town centre, with a nice park just along the street. Reception staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. We paid £101 per night, and I've stayed in plenty of 4 star hotels for less, so this is no longer a budget hotel chain, but although the standards have risen, it's hard to justify the price. The room was typical Premier, with comfortable double bed, small flat screen TV (but we couldn't get text) and a clean bathroom with a powerful shower. Bit of a smell from the shower curtain, but if you supply shower curtains, that's what you get in warm weather. A glass screen would be an improvement.
The rooms are supposed to be air-conditioned, but this was completely ineffective, with a weak flow of lukewarm air doing nothing to cool the room down. It was a nice weekend, but only 21°C at its peak, but the room was constantly stuffy. It took hours to clear the steamy result of taking a shower, and if the bathroom had extraction, it didn't seem to be very effective. Opening the restricted window helped a little, but our room overlooked the busy street, so noise was an issue, plus the window opened so little it didn't have that much effect.
Parking is an issue mentioned in previous reviews, but as we were travelling by motorcycle, we parked up on the pavement, which may or may not be an issue (we didn't get a ticket for parking there).
We paid for a meal deal at the Table-Table restaurant which is integral with the hotel, and that gives you your evening meal from a restricted menu, a choice of Continental breakfast, which included self-made toast, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, cereals, etc. plus a cooked breakfast, but only if you have all day to wait for it. I noticed 3 staff on, and they were apparently run off their feet. As a result, we waited 10 minutes to get a table, another 15 minutes before someone took our order, and a further 20 minutes before it turned up. It wasn't because it was overcooked either, because eggs, sausage and mushrooms looked like they had been shown the pan for a few seconds before being tipped on to the plate. In the meantime, the tiny pump flask of coffee was empty; the orange juice ran out, there were no side plates, and no teaspoons. As a result of all this, we were still finishing our breakfast when 10:30 arrived, and like magic, everything breakfast-like was whisked away. No warning: just gone.
We missed an event we were supposed to be going to, simply because breakfast took so long, so my advice to you is to stick to the Continental, and my advice to PI, is to get your act together, put more and larger coffee flasks and orange juice dispensers out, and enough crockery and cutlery and butter and everything else to do the whole session, so that staff aren't firefighting trying to do 10 jobs at the same time. More staff might be a good idea too, and try cooking the cooked breakfast.
This is our second stay here, and it was the same last time, so it's clearly not a one-off.
The evening meal from the meal deal was adequate, but when you choose a pear and walnut salad, and it turns up with no pears, that's not good at all. They put apples in instead, but apples aren't pears. Sorry. Surely they should have said, and asked if we'd prefer apples or something else from the menu....
Staff helpful and friendly though and our waitress did her best to resolve any issues, but we were in a rush to be elsewhere, and didn’t have time to mess around waiting for something to be sorted out.
It was definitely the staff who propped up this stay, and had it not been for them, we'd have left a lot more disappointed than we were.
Simple fact is, if PI are going to charge this level of price, then they need to raise their game to suit, and that includes making sure their aircon is capable of dealing with a not very warm summer's day, and that the standard of service in their restaurant is far, far better than it is now. Breakfast is the most influential meal of the day. People don't want to hang around in the Lake District; they want prompt and efficient service, so they can get on with their day.

Room Tip: Overlooking thecar park is quieter than the street
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bancquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews