We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Inn

The Gateway Inn
Ranked #38 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night. It was a Monday and we arrived quite late and only just in time to be able to order food - they only serve food until 8pm on a Monday (although later for the rest of the week) so unfortunately it was a bit rushed. It was typical "pub grub" and was reasonable. We also ate a cooked breakfast the following morning which again wasn't outstanding but perfectly acceptable. Our room was at the top of the building and had a very nice outlook over the fields at the front. Although near a busy roundabout it was quiet and we had a good night's sleep. There were lots of narrow stairs to climb so we ended up leaving most of our luggage in the car and transferring just the basics to a small bag to make it easier! The room was comfortable although the decor was dated it was fine for an overnight stop. In contrast to some of the comments we found the staff to be pleasant and friendly. We would stay here again as the location is very convenient and it is good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    104
    42
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stale sandwhich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Thought I would give this another chance after having a very average meal last year but when I came for a turkey sandwhich and crisps on a lunch time, it was very disappointing. The bread was stale, turkey had fat on it, there were hardly any crisps and the salad was very poor and oddly arranged. If your looking for somewhere other than kendal on a lunchtime id travel just a little bit further to the other villages!

Helpful?
Thank charcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meal at Gateway Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The pub was nicely situated on the main route into the Lake District and the staff were welcoming and efficient. The inside was somewhat tired and dated but many pubs are. We had 2 fish and chip meals which were good quality but a bit pricey at £11.95 each. The disappointment was the vegetarian sausages and chips in a basket (£7.95) - the sausages were hard and barely edible and again over-priced for what they were. The total bill of over £40 seemed a lot for 2 pints of beer, a half a pint of cider and 3 bar meals. Better quality control and keener prices, and maybe a touch of updating, would move this pub to 4 or 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very average. Not homemade roast and rude staff :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our first visit here, and we won't be returning. The woman behind the bar who served us was rude and no sign of a smile! We had roast beef. The beef and gravy was nice, but the potatoes were cooked from frozen (certainly wasn't homemade). There was not enough veg, and the veg we did get was very over cooked. Also they had no English mustard (don't know how somewhere serving traditional Sunday roast, could not have English mustard).

We won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save yourself the disappointment - don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Gateway Inn looks lovely and they welcome dogs - both good but the only two good things about this place. We stopped here to eat on 15th June 2014 on the way home from a weekend in the Lakes. The staff were rude and very unwelcoming, especially the woman behind the bar who had no customer service skills what so ever. The food was poor, as was the beer. As the title of this review says save yourself the disappointment and don't bother stopping here. We certainly won't be stopping again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing