We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of The Gateway Inn

The Gateway Inn
Ranked #38 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this pub while looking for somewhere to eat, we were made very welcome and so was our dog. The food was very quick and tasted great. All the staff were very friendly. Would highly reccomend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGibbs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    111
    44
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped at The Gateway last night having driven past it on the way into the Lakes on many occasions on the basis that the best eateries would be in the touristy central lakes.... But how wrong were we?! The staff were very friendly and the bloke in charge that evening (presumably the owner?) was very chatty and welcoming. The service was at an agreeable pace and attentive. The tables and bar were clean (as were the loos!). There was a lovely patio area with wood burner patio heater, tables in the beautifully tended garden and various outdoor games to keep kids entertained .... But unfortunately it had started to rain so were weren't able to take advantage of these. there were thoughtfully provided fleece blankets just inside the front door with an invitation for you to take one and sit outside.... A really lovely touch!

We ordered starters, a kids meal, a meal from the specials menu and one from the main menu and they were all delicious and well presented. the puddings were yummy too!

Really pleased to have found a decent pub within a stones throw of our hometown of kendal. We'll definitely be going again and would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLMfellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant for gluten free options”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family and I have had a meal at this lovely hotel.
Having 4 people who are gluten free means we struggle to find somewhere with options to satisfy us. This hotel offers a number of gluten free options and including fish and chips, onion rings, burgers in gluten free buns and even the steak pie! The staff were very helpful and could alter the ingrediants to suit our dietary needs. I would eat here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was getting late and we couldn't find suitable accommodation ie somewhere you'd want to spend the night. I checked the map and knew a bit of driving would get us to the gateway, even if a tad out of our way. Arrived to discover change of ownership but still same friendly welcome. Got room, then sat outside and enjoyed coffee, heat from a great patio heater and great chat from Richard who nows runs the hotel. The up market toiletries in the rooms are a nice touch, but its the overall feeling of being welcome along with good staff that will have me coming back. Even if not stopping pop in for a coffee and a chat great place to welcome you to the lake district.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent service friendly staff beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The gateway is lovely pub I was there for the weekend with friends. The food was of top quality and I was spoilt for choice I recommend the vegetarian pancakes and the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Crook, Kendal
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing