We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a bit of pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gateway Inn

The Gateway Inn
Ranked #41 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ok for a bit of pub grub”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went for a meal with another couple a few nights ago, I had read in the local paper that the gateway had been taken over so i was keen to try it out. We hadnt booked and we arrived about 7pm, there was noone in at that time so we got a table no problem, however when it is so quiet it does make the atmosphere slightly daunting? There was music on, well the radio but i think it could have had a little more, like a CD with background music on. Also I was very cold in the room we were sat in. The menu is small but enough, i chose the goats cheese on a crumpet with a rocket salad and a chilli sauce, it was beautiful, better than expected, i then had the steak and mushroom pie which again was lovely, just could have had a few more chips. Everyone elses meal looked equally as good. The pub is great in a fantastic location and the new owners seem to be doing it up a bit, which is what it needed. I think after a couple of months when they are settled in a but more it will be bettwe, but at the moment it is an ideal pub for a bit of pub grub!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katielowe139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    107
    42
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Booked out for my second visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here by chance in April 2012. Loved the friendly approach of the staff, the food was really good and reasonably priced. The Wainwright beer was excellent and could have a choice of a small or a large glass of wine. Breakfast was very filling and lasted us most of the day. We went back in September on our way to Glasgow and found it was booked out but we did managed to stay for dinner. The staff recognised us and were interested in our travels. I would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kandetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a smashing mini break”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

cannot fault it in every aspect accomadation good like home from home food excelent and plenty staff friendly and excelent service we will be back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in the lakes .”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Really could not fault this hotel , the staff are always happy to help , well organised and enthusiastic  . The food was very tasty and traditional but with a modern twist and the room we stayed in was cosy ,but spacious . We were really flabbergasted to see the standard of cleaning , it was spotless ! And was a improvement to the premiere inn just down the road. My favourite part was sitting in the garden reading a book with a glass of wine , watching the kids play footie and enjoying the fresh air.

I really wish our family had discovered this little gem earlier as some of the other hotels in kendal are over priced and unwelcoming to  large family's such as ours . With just a small drive into kendal , the gateway was practical and i would recommend it to anyone. 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha philip... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Go there and enjoy the great hospitality food and warm welcome by the new management, called Richard Dutton.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful Sunday Lunch here, my husband had the warm mackerell, very fresh, loveley toasted bread. I had the Mozzarella and tomato salad, absolutely perfect! Main meals were very good as well. Would love to go and have our Sunday meal here every week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing