We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
225
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit town centre great local knowledge single room marmalade road parking highly recommend this b b friendly hosts excellent breakfast warm welcome only stayed one night water pressure cumberland sausage few minutes walk lovely room excellent location visiting kendal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived on the doorstep like lost travellers! Stayed one night but the room was immaculate . Lovely friendly owners . Room had everything plus more than we needed. Brilliant location in the centre of Kendal . Lots of places,markets,pubs etc to visit.
Will definatley return .

Room Tip: We had a back room in the attic, very quiet,immaculately clean and just the right size for one night .
Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

What a wonderful place and Richard and Wendy are marvelous hosts. Parking is a bit of an issue but it is nothing compared to the positives that this B&B offers. The location is fantastic, the lodgings are first-rate and the breakfasts are superb. When you're there take advantage of Richard's wealth of knowledge about where to go and what to see. Pay particular attn to his driving directions as they can save you hours. We will be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house but the Superior Double is wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Hillside Bed & Breakfast. The rooms are very clean, nice furniture, good beds, good shower and a wonderful breakfast which is served by the host Richard. Wendy and Richard are very welcoming and we had some very pleasant talks and good laughs during our breakfast.
The town centre and beautiful views are only a 5 minute walk from the house. We would certainly go back. And we also liked the complementary mint cake and free parking outside the house. We highly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Brit1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Stayed here 4 nights for a visit to the Lakes district and would definitely stay here again, The proprietors Richard and Wendy were beyond friendly and made us feel very welcome in their home, Breakfast buffet was wonderful with eggs to order and a wide range of hot and cold items. The room was not overly spacious, but I have seen much smaller rooms. The location is good in a quiet neighborhood, but towards the top of a hill, so one might need to arrive and depart the B&B by vehicle instead of walking up from the train station. There is a grocery store at the bottom of the hill, with a large number of pubs and restaurants not much farther on. The Serpentine Woods are nearby and have benches and lovely views over the valley. Thank you, Richard and Wendy, for making our Kendal stay so enjoyable and so memorable!

Room Tip: Room 2 was a nice size with a fairly spacious bathroom; was also quiet as it faces the back of the house
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kentush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Hillside is a lovely, clean B&B run by Richard and Wendy. We did joke that it should be called Mountainside instead. The road is very, very steep and as older, slightly unfit individuals we found it a bit of a challenge. We had a room looking out on to Beast Banks Road. The weather was warm so we opened our windows which did mean we had a little noise but it didn't really bother us much. The room was small and very clean. The ensuite was great and the shower was nice and warm but the water pressure could have been better. Richard was very helpful with suggestions about where to eat and places to visit. Breakfast options were good and Wendy does lovely poached eggs.
We enjoyed our stay in Kendal and say Tnankyou

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews