We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
229
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit town centre friendly and helpful hosts great local knowledge marmalade road parking highly recommend this b b warm welcome a couple of minutes walk excellent breakfast only stayed one night water pressure cumberland sausage bed was comfortable pubs and restaurants lovely room visiting kendal
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 267 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Stayed here 4 nights for a visit to the Lakes district and would definitely stay here again, The proprietors Richard and Wendy were beyond friendly and made us feel very welcome in their home, Breakfast buffet was wonderful with eggs to order and a wide range of hot and cold items. The room was not overly spacious, but I have seen much smaller rooms. The location is good in a quiet neighborhood, but towards the top of a hill, so one might need to arrive and depart the B&B by vehicle instead of walking up from the train station. There is a grocery store at the bottom of the hill, with a large number of pubs and restaurants not much farther on. The Serpentine Woods are nearby and have benches and lovely views over the valley. Thank you, Richard and Wendy, for making our Kendal stay so enjoyable and so memorable!

Room tip: Room 2 was a nice size with a fairly spacious bathroom; was also quiet as it faces the back of the house
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank kentush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Hillside is a lovely, clean B&B run by Richard and Wendy. We did joke that it should be called Mountainside instead. The road is very, very steep and as older, slightly unfit individuals we found it a bit of a challenge. We had a room looking out on to Beast Banks Road. The weather was warm so we opened our windows which did mean we had a little noise but it didn't really bother us much. The room was small and very clean. The ensuite was great and the shower was nice and warm but the water pressure could have been better. Richard was very helpful with suggestions about where to eat and places to visit. Breakfast options were good and Wendy does lovely poached eggs.
We enjoyed our stay in Kendal and say Tnankyou

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank T5623MLanthonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Can't fault this place - stayed for 2 nights while visiting Kendal and the lakes and was really pleasantly surprised. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was clean, spacious with a seating area, and decorated to a high standard. Everything appeared to be high quality and provided for a very comfortable couple of nights. The breakfast was also exceptional.

Location is good, though as the name suggests it's on a hill - as it turns out much of Kendal is! It was fine in a car, though they don't call the road beast bank for nothing, and could be a bit much to drag a suitcase up there if on foot. Parking on the road always sseemed busy but with the odd space - so was never a problem.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Englishman-in-theUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Not too far from the station, though a steep climb at Beast Banks to work off the calories. Warm welcome. Very knowledgable and helpful. Everything clean and tip top. Quiet location. Excellent, freshly cooked breakfast.

Room tip: I had a room at the front; my friend a room at the back. Both were quiet, clean and everything we needed.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay with my sister, Hillside is in a perfect location. Room was lovely and comfortable, plenty of space ,with larger than average en suite, Richard and Wendy were the perfect friendly hosts, served a lovely breakfast, no problem with parking permit given, even on a bank holiday weekend.Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Kendal. Thanks for everything, we will be back. X

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Lesley186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews