We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
225
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit town centre great local knowledge single room marmalade road parking highly recommend this b b friendly hosts excellent breakfast warm welcome only stayed one night water pressure cumberland sausage few minutes walk lovely room excellent location visiting kendal
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 263 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay with my sister, Hillside is in a perfect location. Room was lovely and comfortable, plenty of space ,with larger than average en suite, Richard and Wendy were the perfect friendly hosts, served a lovely breakfast, no problem with parking permit given, even on a bank holiday weekend.Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Kendal. Thanks for everything, we will be back. X

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Lesley186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Hillside gives you everything you need in a guest house in Kendal. It's comfortable, warm and clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good as well (good porridge!). It's also very convenient for the centre of Kendal. Very good value.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RohanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Only stayed one night but will definitely return. Everything is spot on. We stayed in room 4. The room was lovely. Spotlessly clean. An added bonus in a B&B room is to have a seating area to sit and enjou a cup of tea.Bed very comfortable. Ensuite small and shower pressure not very strong although I appreciate it is an old property and we were on the top floor. Breakfast cooked beautifully. Everything served hot. Good quality ingredients. Plenty of tea and toast to follow. Kendle centre is only a couple of minutes walk away. Would highly recommend you stay here x

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

On arrival we were welcomed to this friendly, warm, clean and well equipped B+B by Richard. I'd found on street parking with ease, slap bang outside Hillside and Richard gave me one of the permits to display in the car for the duration of our stay. Richard talked us through some of the local sights, restaurants, shops and gave us some history of Kendal before showing us to our room, room 3 on the first floor a superior double en-suite. What a lovely room with a super en-suite bathroom. There was a kettle, milk, tea and coffee along with a couple of packets of tasty biscuits which were replenished daily. There were also a couple of glasses and the guests information folder which housed lots of information including; restaurant suggestions, contact details, some useful local maps and pamphlets.

The bed was really comfortable and there's plenty of storage space in the room with cupboards, drawers and a wardrobe containing lots of hangers. There's also things like a blanket and a folding table in the wardrobe should you want or need a table for computer use.

There's a nice TV on the wall, a bedside clock radio and the WiFi is great.

The bathroom was well appointed with a super walk in shower complete with rainfall shower head.

Breakfast the next morning offered, juice, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, porridge, eggs, bacon, sausage (vegetarian option available for those that need to deprive themselves of meat), eggs cooked to order, beans, toast, butter, marmalade and of course, tea or coffee.

Both Richard and Wendy were superb hosts, going the extra mile without hesitation such as when we set of to do the woodland walk Wendy went and got us details of the alphabet trail in Serpentine wood which really added to the already excellent walks we undertook.

Hillside is a credit to it's proprietors, is excellently located just a 3 minute walk from the main street and is set in a lovely, quiet, friendly neighbourhood.

If you're going to Kendal stay here.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Email contact on booking was v. quick and informative. Wendy & Richard told me where to park on arrival, via downloadable maps Kendal's one-way system,attractions,shops,etc; a 'Zone C' parking permit zone (free permit on arrival for the duration of your stay),driving directions,contact numbers,website ,email address. On arrival, I was greeted by Wendy ,(and later Richard) both very friendly and approachable owners, who signed me in and showed me to my room on the second floor, Room 4 ( 6 rooms in total). The room, as you can see from the photos, had a v. comfortable double bed, a triangular window, LCD TV, chairs, large cupboard, a large plastic tray for muddy boots!, and free(concessionary) fast boil kettle, cups, biscuits, Lakeland tea. Everything was very clean , esp. the bathroom , with a shower ( no bath), WC and washbasin, and a v. efficient extractor fan. The room was v. quiet with no nighttime disturbance.
Location? Just up a steep hill (Beast Banks) directly from the town centre, perfect for discovering Kendal town , and , in the summer, I would imagine a great starting point for walks in Lakeland. A v. informative brochure was supplied (not free), in my room , full of things to do. (plenty free info at reception).
Eateries? During the day - I recommend Farrers Tea Rooms just down beast banks and round the corner onto main street. 2 Sisters was too small and too expensive and had no menu outside anyway. I did visit Wainwright's cafe but found it too obtrusive and expensive.Others are The Farmer's Kitchen (tfk) - looked ok, menu outside, reasonable.
At night - Fish Express is a v. friendly chippy who very kindly let me sit and eat in even though they were about to close - 5 star customer service. Pubs just down the hill include The Castle House(live premier footy) and Wetherspoons, and The Gate of Kendal , a new restaurant.ie plenty places to eat.
If just visiting, there is a large multi storey car park -Westmorland Shopping centre - £3.90 for 2 3/4 hrs. - ticket machine.
Breakfast - excellent - bacon,eggs, toast, lakeland tea, cereal.
Departure was v. pleasant , payment by cash /debit card.
This B & B gets 5 stars for a very friendly and efficient service and superb location to town centre and surrounding hills.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors very quiet .
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brucerobinson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews