We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round: Clean, comfy, friendly, homely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent all round: Clean, comfy, friendly, homely!”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I've stayed here many, many times and have had the same excellent experience each time. Clean, tidy rooms, helpful, friendly hosts, lovely breakfasts and all less than 2 minutes from the shops, the arts centre, restaurants etc. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
103
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Very comfortable room, good breakfast, excellent service, good value for money, would use again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarnhamDavid_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were very pleased with the Hillside b&b,lovely house with many special features.We would return if in the area again,freindly happy owners.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnyriggtrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Situated in the Victorian area of Beast Banks, Hillside was an integral part of our stay in the Lakes.

Just off the M6 (only one hour from Greater Manchester), and barely 15 minutes drive from Ambleside, we felt we had the best of both worlds.

We also found Nigel courteous and very service driven. I would highly recommend Hillside to both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sennagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the owners were helpful and friendly from our initial telephone enquiry to the end of our stay. On arrival, we immediately felt welcome and relaxed. The breakfast was delicious with variety and quantity to satisfy our hungry (and sometimes fussy) teenagers. We would have no hestitation returning to Hillside on our next visit to Kendal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenagefamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Arrived at hillside to be greeted by owner Nigel after a hard day at work and longish journey with a 9 week old baby was really taken back with how helpful and welcoming he was. He helped with all our bags and there was a lot, the room was amazing with a veiw on the road decorated to high standards flat screen tv on wall bottle warmer for baby ,the walk in shower was out of this world. Met His wife Joe later and she was just as nice and helpful. Over all me and my family will definately be returning to Hillside b&b 10 out of 10 all boxes ticked . Thanks Kenny Emma and Libby

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennirife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This Hotel is a little gem of a place.

The location is about a 2 minute walk to the centre of kendal although it's on a hill, so the walk back is a bit slower than the one there.

The staff can't do enough for you.

The rooms are very tidy and well kept with a flat tv on the wall. The breakfasts are all home made and they are excellent with a full english on offer to cerials etc.

I will definatly be staying here again in the future and would have no hesistation in recommending it to anyone.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pss53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 13 in Kendal
407 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing