We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, Richard & Wendy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks, Richard & Wendy”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a weekend stay in a four-star hotel in Leeds, we were looking forward to the far more delicious, frreshly cooked breakfast at the Hillside, and as before we were not disappointed. Mid-week snow (4-5 inches) made us even more grateful for the warmth and comfort of the Hillside, and a good night's sleep in the comfortable beds. We agree with the positive comments that other 5-star reviewers have made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNige4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
103
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thanks again for another excellent weekend's stay. Just as before, a warm welcome to a spotlessly well maintained guesthouse with all the facilities you would expect. A hearty breakfast, a central location - yet quiet - an in-depth knowledge of the area if you need advice on where to travel / visit. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBoyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ideal location only 300mtrs from centre, room was spotless with a large ensuite, room no 3, breakfast very tasty and plentyful,Wendy and Richard were very helpful and full of local knowledge.Would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Room no 3 is the best room at the B&B..worth paying that little bit more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a really great place, friendly, excellent breakfasts, nothing too much trouble. It's very well situated, spotless and comfortable, with parking. We will certainly head there as a first choice when we go back to Kendal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the B+B to go to in Kendal for:
- a central location
- comfortable, well-appointed and spotless bedrooms and en-suites
- welcoming, friendly and helpful service
- excellent breakfasts
- willingness to accommodate individual dietary requirements
- a parking permit if required
- excellent local information from hosts or from folder in bedrooms
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMcD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and Wendy and Richard were super hosts, very friendly, helpful and professional. Excellent service and attention to detail, for example we had a bottle of wine in our room and Wendy left some glasses out for us, there was also a large selection of tea, coffee and my favourite hot chocolate. The room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with a separate seating area ideal for resting after a long day out. Great breakfast with plenty to choose from, Wendy’s poached eggs were great. Richard will willingly help you sort out a day trip, walk or give you some useful info we were impressed at his knowledge and willingness to help. We had a Great weekend. Think you'll like it whether old young or in between. Cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 with a quirky triangular window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely stay at this small family run B&B. Our on-suite room was spacious and well decorated in a very modern style. Breakfast was excellent and the location, just a few minutes walk from Kendal town centre is ideal for visiting the area.

Being so close to the town centre parking was my bigest concern but when we arrived we were given a parking permit which alowed us to park just up the road from the B&B which was very handy.

I hightly recomend this B&B if your visiting Kendal and the lakes especialy considering the low rates which are very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonjo_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing