We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, central and spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, central and spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

A lovely warm welcome and an immaculate, beautifully decorated and spacious room.
Richard and Wendy were friendly and efficient and I would have happily have paid more for the spotlessly clean room! This B&B was an excellent and easy base for my stay in Kendal and the cracking breakfast set me up for a long day ahead. I will definitely book again when I next visit! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
102
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great location in nice town, excellent hosts, great hospitality and service.
Nothing to complain about.
The room was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Brilliant place to stay very clean and modern. The lady who runs it is very welcoming and could not help enough. We stayed there after a fishing trip and I. Was a pleasure you can come and go as you please which was very pleasing. Didn't have a breakfast due to sleeping in ( partly down to the comfy bed) and the view in the single room is amazing. Would Sereiously recommend and hope to return on my next fishing trip. Would like to say thanks again made a great trip greater. James from Liverpool.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishnamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wendy and Richard are awesome, nothing is to much trouble and the rooms are superb! Tidy & clean smell fresh, I've used this place a few times now. Its problematic for for car parking as its on a street on a huge Hill (So if you have respiratory problems then best avoid as its very steep!) but both Richard and Wendy keep an out for available parking spaces in case you want to move. They are very accomodating as we came back to the House at 1:30am and they supplied a spare key to allow us to return in the front door. The rooms are small altough modern wel kept and clean as is the toilet/ shower room.
The house is very quiet so if you want a good nights sleep your sure to get it here. A fantastic place to stay, Would recommend it.

P.S Recommend PUMPKINS for food at the foot of the hill, good value!

Room Tip: Any of them!! Richard and Wendy bend over backward and beyond to assist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltzTheCoolerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Richard & Wendy make you feel very welcome. Room was smart, clean, warm and quiet, even though B&B only a short walk frokm town centre. Cooked breakfast good (great mushrooms) and copious quantities of tea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9574722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Having stayed here before we knew what to expect which was a warm welcome from hosts Richard and Wendy who are friendly and thoughtful. The bedroom is warm, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and delicious. We would highly recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to Kendal or the nearby area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNige4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This B&B is in a great location within a few minutes walk from Kendal town centre. Booking was easy via a quick call followed by a confirmation e-mail. Husband and wife team, who are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very clean and tidy, more coffee and tea in the room than you would expect which was good. Good TV and shower. If I was being ultra critical I would say 8am to 8.45am breafast time is a little restrictive at weekends. Breafast were all very nicely done, I had a cooked breakfast as well as fruit, toast and the products used were exceptional, quality bacon and sausage. Simply put this is a little gem of a B&B that you will find hard to better at this reasonable cost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymc1136r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing