We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Brilliant place to stay very clean and modern. The lady who runs it is very welcoming and could not help enough. We stayed there after a fishing trip and I. Was a pleasure you can come and go as you please which was very pleasing. Didn't have a breakfast due to sleeping in ( partly down to the comfy bed) and the view in the single room is amazing. Would Sereiously recommend and hope to return on my next fishing trip. Would like to say thanks again made a great trip greater. James from Liverpool.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishnamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wendy and Richard are awesome, nothing is to much trouble and the rooms are superb! Tidy & clean smell fresh, I've used this place a few times now. Its problematic for for car parking as its on a street on a huge Hill (So if you have respiratory problems then best avoid as its very steep!) but both Richard and Wendy keep an out for available parking spaces in case you want to move. They are very accomodating as we came back to the House at 1:30am and they supplied a spare key to allow us to return in the front door. The rooms are small altough modern wel kept and clean as is the toilet/ shower room.
The house is very quiet so if you want a good nights sleep your sure to get it here. A fantastic place to stay, Would recommend it.

P.S Recommend PUMPKINS for food at the foot of the hill, good value!

Room Tip: Any of them!! Richard and Wendy bend over backward and beyond to assist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltzTheCoolerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Richard & Wendy make you feel very welcome. Room was smart, clean, warm and quiet, even though B&B only a short walk frokm town centre. Cooked breakfast good (great mushrooms) and copious quantities of tea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,574,722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Having stayed here before we knew what to expect which was a warm welcome from hosts Richard and Wendy who are friendly and thoughtful. The bedroom is warm, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and delicious. We would highly recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to Kendal or the nearby area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNige4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This B&B is in a great location within a few minutes walk from Kendal town centre. Booking was easy via a quick call followed by a confirmation e-mail. Husband and wife team, who are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very clean and tidy, more coffee and tea in the room than you would expect which was good. Good TV and shower. If I was being ultra critical I would say 8am to 8.45am breafast time is a little restrictive at weekends. Breafast were all very nicely done, I had a cooked breakfast as well as fruit, toast and the products used were exceptional, quality bacon and sausage. Simply put this is a little gem of a B&B that you will find hard to better at this reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymc1136r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is one of the nicest b and b I've ever stayed at. It is shiny clean, attractively decorated, centrally located and the hosts are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostInTheHillsMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Excellent!!!
Lovely place to stay the owners are charming and make you feel very welcome right from arrival to departure.
The room we had was just smashing, clean and perfect in every way. Really can not fault the bed and breakfast.
Breakfast was just enough you did not feel over faced and nothing was any trouble.
The location is good, as it is central for the town, even though you have a small uphill walk back it really is worth it.
Would we go back yes definatley.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
293 reviews
2 mi away
The Glen Guest House
The Glen Guest House
#4 of 42 in Kendal
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: $112 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing