We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible rude service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulo Gianni's

Paulo Gianni's
Ranked #21 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

So looking forward to a night out at Gianni's only to be severely disappointed. Waited 20 minutes for a glass of red wine followed by a Very sub-standard meal, tasteless pasta dish and my friend had over cooked fillet steak, on mentioning the steak to the waiter he agreed steak was over cooked, could eat that or wait for a replacement!!! Decided to make do. However later through the meal after leaving half the steak and plates being cleared a young very rude man leaning right across the table up to her face came back and said "the chef would argue to the death steak cooked correctly", trust us it was not!! He was so rude and threatening!!!! (However, Can we just say the very young looking blonde waiter was an absolute delight, shame he is let down by his senior staff x)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    190
    81
    60
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This Italian restaurant does a happy hour early evening and lunchtime, only its longer than an hour when many meals are charged at a reduced rate. I have visited the restaurant numerous times since it opened many years ago, in this time I have only have three problems with meals they have been dealt with courteously and to my satisfaction. The food is well cooked and tasty, for the price I don't think it can be bettered.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LesEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“cheap n delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

i went during happy hour had a delicious garlic bread, nice crispy thin pizza and pasta with seafood (mussels and things), it was so tasty and so cheap!! my kind of meal :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FIshfacefingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very, very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Six of us visited at lunchtime last week. It was the first time I had been here and the food couldn't be faulted. In fact, the spaghetti carbonara was possibly the nicest I've ever tasted. I was spoilt for choice and some of the other dishes sounded great, including spaghetti with spicy meatballs. We had a mix of pizzas and pasta dishes. My friends said the pizzas were excellent. One of them had one with asparagus and it looked fantastic. We also shared a garlic pizza and it was certainly garlicky.

The atmosphere was good and for a Monday lunchtime the place was quite busy. It's quite a dark, moody, romantic space in our section of the restaurant and I would imagine it would be good for a night out with a partner. The staff were attentive and friendly and service was speedy and efficient. Because it was lunchtime we dined at happy hour prices and it was excellent value. I'll definitely be back and would highly recommend this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austriamad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Gianni"s gets it just right.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Visiting Kendal, we called by chance for lunch. What a delight. Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff, spotlessly clean and rounded off with enjoyable food and drinks at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller635920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo Gianni's also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Paulo Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing