We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to eat”
Review of Paulo Gianni's

Paulo Gianni's
Ranked #32 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really nice place to eat”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a really great place to eat. We eat here twice, happy hour is well worth going too. Thought maybe with the price we wouldn't get alot but we did, you get alot for your money, well worth going. Only down side is the staff don't seem to smile too much but maybe they were having a bad. If your looking for good food go here... inore the silly reviews saying its not ''fine dining'' if you want al a cart eat where you pay over the odds for that and get a small amount of food lol hope this review helps you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaBates88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    201
    94
    63
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ok for a cheep meal”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

prices very good but don't expect fine food . Its good for a quick bite. Go early to get then best price . Nice environment

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Younger staff pleasant...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Turned up for the happy hour. Quickly seated by the younger gent. Very pleasant and quickly served without been intimadating... couldnt help but notice change of decor. Very pleasant. Anyway, ordered our food and came quickly. Standard level of food with a lovely sound of the microwave door slamming from the kitchen... need to do more with an oven... plus scottish older waiter, seems to be the supervisor. Saw him very rarely making an appearance on the floor and stood in the kitchen eating pizza, talking and occasionally pretending to do work. Younger staff all good and pleasant whilst older guy needs to do some work. Walks round and round in circles inbetween bites of pizza... could wash your hands too afterwards mate!

Helpful?
Thank mickd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a meal here with friends whilst staying in Kendal overnight. We had not booked but the staff were very welcoming and friendly and sorted out a table for 4 of us without any delay. The restaurant was suprisingly busy for a Monday night and there was a good buzz and atmosphere. Excellent food. Served quickly. Great choice and we all enjoyed our different selections, which is unsual as we all have varied tastes for our food. Very reasonable food prices and good house wine which was not overpriced. Would certainly be going there regularly if we lived locally.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal here on 1st November. We have always noted that the restaurant is full until 8pm so we booked a table for 8pm at lunchtime. On arrival our table was not quite ready so we were invited to one of the two upstairs bars for a drink.

When our table was ready downstairs, it was a table for four despite there only being two of us and it was right at the front in the window. An excellent view and excellent for people watching up and down Stramongate.

On reading the menu it is clear to see why the restaurant is full until 8pm as Happy Hour prices are incredibly cheap with some meals costing as little as £2.99. Well as we were not there for a bargain we enjoyed a two course meal and a bottle of wine. I was slightly disappointed to find on paying that the Sambuca shot was not provided complimentary, considering our bill did come to over £50.

We enjoyed ourselves and our food was without fault.

Would go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo Gianni's also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Paulo Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing