We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never fails to please”
Review of Paulo Gianni's

Paulo Gianni's
Ranked #28 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never fails to please”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is one of the best places in kendal to eat, the quality and service you receive here is superb.

Having had a special occasion and various other meals here, I have never had a bad experience yet.

The staff are great. They are really friendly and always happy to help. You will receive great a service from manager and staff alike, they are all a great laugh and approachable.

The food is amazing, Italian at its best!! The cost per person is reasonable. At happy hour it is cheap for the quality that your receive.

The portion sizes are great, big meals and fill a hole!

A great place to go no matter what the occasion; light lunch, birthday, meeting, catch up etc. The best place to dress up or go in your casuals!

Happy hour is great, i would recommend booking if going in the evening as it is busy because of their great reputation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    196
    87
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Birthday meal, great food and good service.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Luckily we managed to stumble upon this restaurant when looking for a place for a family birthday meal. It had a great menu and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akuany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good friendly Italian especially at happy hour”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We often stop here for lunch on a Saturday, happy hour is cheaper than going home. Excellent head waiter, some of the waitress's can be a bit sullen. Excellent pizza, and garlic bread. Not tried Pasta but always looks good. Had canalonni on last visit, not on Menu but Head Waiter said they would make one for me and I could have it at a happy hour price. It was excellent, very hot, good flavour and lots of tasty tomato sauce. Very different to the dry Cannaloni and Lasagne that are served in many of the pubs in S. lakes. Excellent value.....if you get the sullen waitress's ask for the head waiter ..it's worth the hassle!,!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSBolton_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good italian”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited lunchtime today and new décor looks great and the seats were comfortable the Italian food was excellent and the service too we have dined here on numerous occasions and are usually pleased with the food anyway but today they excelled.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minsky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ordered lunch for both myself and my daughter. I was reasonably happy with my choice although my daughter said that the chips were awful and on tasting them, I have to agree. They were undercooked and powdery in the middle. The bar staff seemed quite miserable, I don't think I saw a single smile throughout. Lacked a sense of intimacy and seemed more like a restaurant chain. The head waiter was helpful. Please do something with those dreadful chips!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo Gianni's also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Paulo Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing