We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant pub”

Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Brilliant pub”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stopped in for a couple of pints on the way through to Keswick. The pub is structurally brilliant, and the mill and 'creek' passing by adds to the excellent atmosphere... could have easily settled in for a long session! The memorabilia on the walls is fun and entertaining, and I couldn't help but buy a couple of the beer-related shirts. Can't wait to visit again... for more than a couple of pints next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novicevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    176
    48
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You have to like dogs”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

18/8/2012 - Called in for a lunch on the way to see relatives, food was very good, delivered in reasonable time albeit a little pricey but accepted in middle of tourist area.
There were 4 separate doge couples in the bar. I am a dog lover but was a bit disconcerted when serving staff stopped to pet the dogs and then appeared within minutes with plates of food, did they wash their hands, just slightly off putting, there were several notices up about what can be done, where you can eat etc, would like to have seen one that said staff MUST NOT fondle dogs. I used to have a dog and love them but I dont believe serving staff should touch them if they are going directly into the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice, but could do Bitter”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The choice of beer is excellent, both their own and the guest ales. And great to see well behaved dogs welcomed in the bar areas. The food however is a little on the pricey side for the quality and size of portions, but a good choice of snacks and meals to suit all tastes (like the beers). On this our second visit we were a little disappointed to find the home cooked chips a little lacklustre - perhaps a change of potato or cooking oil? Will definitely return - to carry on my research into the own-brewed beers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another convivial visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Watermill is equidistant between ourselves and relatives. So we meet there a couple of times a year. Each time we go the food, surroundings and beer are just as good, if not better, than the last! For those who need to know the car park is mainly thin gravel and, if you know what to look for, is quite easy to push a wheelchair or pushchair over. Once you reach the paved patio area you are ok as access is level and there is a splendid disabled loo and baby change combined. We liked the wet wall panelling in the loo so much we had the same done in our new bathroom! The staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and eager to please without being too pushy. The menu has been reprinted to show what local produce is used, such as bread from the super 'More' artisan bakery just a couple of miles down the road in Staveley. Also, the pub now makes lovely fresh handcut chips which are a meal on their own.
For those who walk the staff also give directions to good walks on the nearby fells.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vectis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“food glorious food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We called into "The Watermill" to meet friends for lunch. Cumberland skillet for starters, ploughmans for main course. No dessert, no room left. Great beers, really good food and very good service. Would recommend to all who visit "The Lakes"

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermill Inn & Brewing Co. also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing