We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing!”

Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smashing!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed on the recommendation of friends. A proper pub, a excellent variety of beers and great food in generous portions. Staff can advise on local walks that are not too challenging, but hard enough to work up an appetite for the next meal.
No drinks even for residents after 11pm which suited us fine and we had a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    175
    45
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A true pub-lovers' pub. Just as they are supposed to be!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've been here too many to count ever since it opened. It has progressively just got better and better. With its micro brewery (visible from the bar) and a constant changing list of guest beers, you will never get bored with the same old pint! They make, if I remember correctly 9 or 10 beers on the premises, and at anyone time have a choice of 15 beers on tap! No wonder it keeps winning CAMRA and good pub awards. They let you taste the beers before you choose and there are tasting notes above the bar.

Then, just in case that is not enough, they have a seriously extensive whisky list! The kind of place you get your mate to drive you to!

The food is good quality, pub-style, local fare, coming in huge portions. I've never had a bad meal here. They also serve food all day until 9pm

They also love dogs! Your dog will always be greeted with a few dog biscuits, and there's always a mellée of mutts!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erasmusthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, lovely staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is an amazingly dog friendly pub, one of the bar ladies came round periodically to talk to the dogs and offered dog treats (with the owner's permission). There was a cosy atmosphere, with a log fire on the go, and a non-doggy section for anyone so inclined.
They have their own microbrewery and hubby and I are part-way through sampling their collection. There are plenty of real ales on offer, both their own and others from local brewers. The food is also very tasty, with the steak coming from their own heard of cows, cooked to our liking (they know the difference between medium and well-done unlike a few places we've been!) and all the accompaniments were well presented and hot.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmar1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time for another glass”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This year (April) we returned for another visit to the Watermill Inn and this time stayed for 2 nights. The staff were excellent in their welcome and Sam (our dog) must have realised this place was something special as he was offered 2 biscuits at the bar!
We settled in and enjoyed the first of the 13 different choice of beers. Wonderfull! Nearby there were plenty of different walks of all types to appreciate this part of the Dales.
A good choice of food, though the menu had not changed hardly at all from lst visit. However there was plenty on the plate and all in enjoyable company.
Our room was at the top of the Inn and well into the roof. An excellent shower that just could have been improved that bit more with a simple re-sealing of the mastic surround. Beds were comfortable though one needed to remember to duck the head when getting up if using the single bed in the family room.
Breakfast was good, nicely cooked and presented. Sam also was treated to the obligatory biscuits too so he was happy.
A very enjoyable 2 days that will bring us back for a revisit another time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterandRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for Groups”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We always stop here for a beer or two after being on the fells! The food has aleways been fresh and well prepared with good size portions!

The accommadation is in good size rooms with excellant showers!

The fact i could park here for 3 days and not move the car was a real bonus with the Hawkshead brewery in Staveley a real bonus

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crinklecrags95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermill Inn & Brewing Co. also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing