We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcoming place to stay - such a friendly owner”
Review of Bridge House B&B

Bridge House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge House B&B
Ranked #12 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful welcoming place to stay - such a friendly owner”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

A wonderful place to stay. Sheila is very friendly and accommodating and the house is beautiful and lovely to stay in. Everything was beautifully prepared and the en-suite room we had was lovely, very clean and had everything we needed.
Breakfast was great and we had a good night's sleep.
We stayed at Bridge House for one night at a weekend. It can often be difficult to get accommodation for a single night's stay on a weekend in general in the Lake District so thanks for taking single night bookings!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelajonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Whilst cycling from Land's End to John O'Groats we were lucky enough to stumble across this excellent B&B run by the delightful Alan & Sheila. Nothing was too much trouble. There was excellent storage space for our precious bikes and as both Alan and Sheila have a wide and extensive knowledge of the great outdoors, it was fantastic to be able to share our stories of outdoor adventures as walkers, climbers and cyclists! The rooms were excellent - immaculate and extremely well equipped. Breakfast was, quite simply, the best we had on our 10 day trip. We left after an excellent night's sleep refreshed and ready to resume our journey northwards!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieronPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I loved the look of this place and promptly booked reading great reviews however I (like the reviewer below) forgot to check out googlestreet view and see the train line litrally next to the line. Also, downstairs in the room below was music going past 10.00pm (which may seem early but we had a baby trying to sleep)

The free mint cake was a sweet touch, and room was clean. The shower was very hot or very cold, which could be addressed.

The needs of our baby were catered to so well, Sheila is a fantastic host and very helpful I just think the location is not as peaceful as we would have liked and won't be visiting again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NattsHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgehousekendal, Owner at Bridge House B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
It is true that Bridge House is next to a train line: the house is a 'listed' building which was built around the 1830s to accomodate the Station Master for Kendal train station, which is a short walk away. It is however important to note that the train line is a local single track for small trains which runs between Oxenholme and Windermere (not the main West Coast line). There is a maximum of one train per hour from 7am to 11pm, and fewer trains at weekends.

We were not aware of the problem with the shower and the guest did not mention this upon departure. We are very pleased that this has been brought to our attention via TripAdvisor and the shower was replaced the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Kendal train station, so very convenient if you are arriving late or leaving early. However, the house is just next to the railway bridge from where we could see and hear all passing trains. The next thing that was quite annoying was a large clock in the hallway announcing every hour, thus if you have a light sleep this will keep you awake during the night. Our room was not en suite and we found in the room various items belonging to members of family (toys, clothes, shoes, books, games, etc.) the bathroom was also shared with some other members of the family.
On the positive side, the hostess Sheila is very warm and helpfull. The breakfast was great (fruits followed by the full English) romm and batroom clean - overall perfect for 1 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgehousekendal, Owner at Bridge House B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
As mentioned in our reply to the other review posted on 16 August 2010, it is true that Bridge House is next to a single track railway line. This however is the local line that links Oxenholme and Windermere, and not the main West Coast line. It is important to note that there is a maximum of one small train per hour from 7am to 11pm only, with fewer trains at weekends.

There is indeed a grandfather clock in the downstairs hallway. This has been in the family for many years and several guests have commented that they believe it adds to the charm and character of Bridge House. Guests in the double and twin en-suite bedrooms generally do not hear the clock at all. However, since this issue has come to our attention via TripAdivisor we now ensure that ear plugs are available for light sleepers if they should so wish.

Finally, the non en-suite room used by these guests is in general only used during very busy periods. Guests are always informed in advance that the bathroom is shared (with family members only), and this is reflected in the reduced room price. Following the comment in this review the personal items in the non en-suite room have now been removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed one night at Bridge House during our walking holiday and it was without doubt the best stop of the week. Sheila was kind enough to meet us straight off the trail, regardless of our footsore and muddy condition, and whisk us back to this elegant but cosily welcoming Georgian townhouse. She took our muddy boots and things to dry, gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner and offered to book us a table. We scrubbed up in the luxurious and spacious en suite room before meandering round to her spot-on recommendation, the Deja Vu bistro which offers a superb set menu for £13, a smashing ambience and lovely staff.
In the morning we had a fab cooked breakfast plus fresh fruit salad and home-baked bread while Sheila chatted to us like we were family. She dropped us back off on the Dales Way footpath, revitalised and fortified for our final day walking.

The room we had was ever so tasteful and comfortable with gorgeous satin comforters, lovely hot shower, a selection of books to peruse, complimentary tea, coffee, biccies and Kendal mint cake and even a little tray to rest your walking boots on. Sheila bustles energetically and seemingly effortlessly around making your stay perfect and definitely deserves a big thumbs up for providing an awesome Lake District welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We booked this place to stay the night of our friend's wedding in Kendal. Unlike many B&Bs Sheila accepted to take our booking for only 1 night (many places turned us down because we werent staying 2 nights).

She also made no fuss about us checking in at 8am and provided a room for us to get changed (the wedding ceremony was very early that morning).

When we returned to the room that night, we were so happy to find a lovely room, tastefully decorated (as is the rest of the house), and so comfortable.

The breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed the homemade bread.

The location was also great as is only down the road from teh Green Castle hotel where our friends got married.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My friend and I stayed here during our Land's End to JOG cycle ride.

The accomodation was to an excellent standard, and the welcome, service and food were also outstanding. There are books and DVDs in the room, and our hosts were able to give us excellent local knowledge of where to go and eat and drink.

For two tired cyclists, this was an oasis of calm and friendliness in a long journey.

Also able to give us secure bike storage, and could not have been more welcoming. Stay there, you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieGarmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House B&B

Property: Bridge House B&B
Address: Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bridge House B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing